3 day roadtrip and still further to go.......


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Pakxe
February 13th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Laying BuddhaLaying BuddhaLaying Buddha

At the Buddha park, it was massive!!
Hi Everyone!!

Thanks so much for all your comments, emails etc, its so nice to hear from you all!!

Since my last blog its been a mixed bag of events really, from amazing days to crap nights on a night bus with NO legroom to being stranded in a bus station at 4am!!

After my last blog we had a really good night, it was our farewell gathering so we went to a really nice expensive restaurant, still only 2.50 pound for fillet steak, we had such a nice meal and of course a few 'beer laos' to send us on our way. It was really sad saying bye to part of our group but I'm sure we'll all bump into each other again soon!

The next morning the remainder of the group, me, Ed, Clare, Laura, Andreas, Sion and Hayley all got our minibus at 6am to start our roadtrip. We decided to go to Vang Vieng then straight onto Vientiene in a day, which is about a 10 hour drive in total with a 3 hour stop off in the middle.

We arrived at Vang Vieng at about 12ish and had a few hours of tubing. Tubing is basically sitting in a rubber tube and floating down the river with amazing scenery either side and ever 100 yards or so theres a bar that pulls you in and sells you a beer, then you carry on floating abit more, have another drink, etc..... Most people spend days here but we just decided to do the afternoon which in my opinion is enough, afterall how much time do you need to sit in a tube and drink beer? You can do that anywhere!! It was a good laugh though and I'll have some pics soon when i get them off one of the lads as i didn't take my camera!

After tubing it was back onto the bus or another 5 hour drive to Vientiane. I wasn't really keen on the place after being in Luang Prabang I think we'd been spoilt! Vientiane is Laos' capital city and was fine for one night but that was definitely enough for me! The next day we sorted out bus tickets, then went to the buddha park which was pretty amazing. thousands of sculptures of all different buddhas and all sorts of things! See pics....

That night we all said goodbye and I'm all alone again for the time being! I got on my night bus to Savannakhet as i'm heading south through Laos, i had no legroom and i was the only westerner on the bus, it was quite daunting especially when we arrived at 4am and i literally had no where to go and no one spoke a word of english! Anyway all was well and a friendly bus driver took me to a guest house where i got a few hours kip! This morning I had a quick look around Savannakhet and decided that one morning was enough and to move onto Pakse, so another 6 hour bus journey with the strangest food provided and I'm here! YIPPEEE!! Its been a long couple of days and theres still further to go, I've got another 4 hour journey tomorrow before I arrive in '4000 islands' which is meant to be stunning beaches, waterfalls, dolphins, etc......

The last week or so has been so good travelling with people but I think that its good to be on my own again. I don't think i've really experienced travelling alone yet as i've mainly been with
Leaving meal!! Leaving meal!! Leaving meal!!

Bye guys, hopefully see you all soon! xx
a group and I think you become reliant on them so its good to be going solo again!

Oh yeah, its roasting here, hows the snow???? hehehehe.....

Hope you're all doing good!

Miss you.

xxxxxx






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Strike a pose!Strike a pose!
Strike a pose!

For all the understand, demi has arrived!!
Eggs, Chicken or Dog on a stick anyone??Eggs, Chicken or Dog on a stick anyone??
Eggs, Chicken or Dog on a stick anyone??

I of course stuck to good old dog!! NOT!!!!


13th February 2007

Your Dancing Partner
Hi Suzie, More wonderful photos, so interesting, beer while floating down the river, does it taste better than sitting in a bar drinking, it is good to see you have meet up with plenty of nice people. Have a wonderful time, waiting for the next photos. Love to you, Nana xxx
14th February 2007

demi wave
Hi hun, hope your ok, nice to see Demi has arrived. Brian has booked his ticket!!! Everything looks amazing, will write more when i'm off nites and have got my life back!!! love ya miss you loads zoxx
20th February 2007

Just read your letter
Hi Suzie, It sounds as though you are meeting an awful lot of should I say interesting folk!!!!, Mansfield will never be the same again for you or Manchester!!. Yes I am sure the trip to the killing fields was very moving. your trip so far seems good, keep the news coming, love nana xxx

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb