Time to Move On


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North » Luang Namtha
December 22nd 2007
Published: December 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's been a great 3 days exploring the Luang Namtha area. Cycling around gave me a chance to get my legs warmed up and my butt used to being in the seat for a while. Half my time was spent out of the saddle though as I stopped lots to take pictures. I've taken so many pictures already I'm wondering what's left to take pictures of : ) The next 5 days will tell. That is the time I am giving myself to get from Luang Namtha to Luang Prabang. The plan is to get an early start and hopefully make it to Na Maw which apparently is 75km away.

Today was a full day of exploring and getting lost up above the rice paddies. But up in the hills you get a great view of what's going on below and I also discovered the rubber trees, (so I learned later). Most of the trees had ceramic bowls attached to the trunk. It reminded me of the tapping for maple syrup but I couldn't figure out what was being tapped. It was a great find. Later on I found myself pushing my bike up an extremely long hill on the way to Ban Sida. Green Discovery told me there was one steep hill and then it levels off and it would be okay for riding. Well, a local man indicated that it was all up hill and I wouldn't be able to ride. I smilled politely and continued to slog my way up the never ending incline, he was right, steep grade and loose dirt did not make for easy biking, or pushing for that matter. The grade did finally ease a bit and when it started to drop down on the other side, I decided it was time to stop, have a late lunch and take in the view. I probably made it about half way. There was lots of traffic on the path, villagers carrying heavy loads down the hill. It's probably just as well I didn't go right to the village because several local people asked me if I went to Ban Sida alone leaving me with a sense that it was territory best visited with a guide. I took advantage of the elevation to get some great views into the valleys and to enjoy the sun set. Overall, a great day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb