GORGEOUS SCENERY AT ALA BEL PASS


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan
May 10th 2007
Published: May 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ALA BEL PASS at approx. 3184 meters, i was expecting to get sick due to altitude but was surprised to find out I was fine, I hope this bode well for me as we get higher in altitude by the time we cross China via Torugart Pass which is much higher. We camped in a valley surrounded by high mountains next to a river I believe it is the Sausamyr river, Clive and Tommie our guide decided to run up the mountain, I wanted to join them but decided to just go up the road for a run as I am worried of the altitude, we are camped at 2000 plus meters. I was exhausted for only a 45 minute run but felt good as I don't get much exercise in this trip. I got a bucket and head down the river and had a cold shower, the water is numbing but felt refreshing, did my laundry as well and then helped out for dinner, Since John and company bought some curry powder I decided to cook the veggies and beans with it and everybody loved it, I am not much of a curry fan but it was quite good if I might say so myself. It was a very cold night and the wind picked up as well, did not sleep well. The next morning most people opted to sit on the roof and we went our way slowly through the valley following the Sausamyr river, the scenery is again fantastic, lots of colors, the landscape keeps changing so can't afford to dose off lest you miss a good photo op. We passed by some villages and the kids are so delighted to see us, some in awe, some wave at us. The villages are very simple thatched roof type but a lot have satellite dish on their roofs. Later as we near the town of Kochkor the scenery changed again it became greener and hilly and got a little bit cold as well, we will overnight in the town of Kochkor.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb