Osh: A Stop on the Silk Road


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan » Osh
August 22nd 2012
Published: August 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

OshOshOsh

A view of downtown from Solomon's Throne
Hello everyone!! Thank you for all of the comments. I love reading them. I'm glad you are enjoying the blog. I think this should be one of my last entries. I will try to hustle back to Kunming from here on out while making just a few side trips here and there. Multi-day treks are finished as are border crossings. Things should become more and more familiar as I start to move southwest.

So, from where I left off last time I was in Karakol, Kyrgyzstan. I took a bus ride back to Bishkek and slept at my host's house again there (I felt my welcome was nearing an end, but its just one more night!) The following morning I woke up early expecting to purchase a bus ticket bound for Kashgar, China. This would be a 4,200 KGS, 36 hour journey to the far east. Anyway, I went to the ticket office and was informed that the bus from Kashgar had not arrived yet. "Maybe later today, maybe tomorrow ...maybe." That was enough to hear so the next stop was to the travel agency and I bought a plane ticket to Osh for 2,500KGS. A very good deal. This
Heading to OshHeading to OshHeading to Osh

Taking the easy way out :P
shaved off 12 of the 36 prospective hours. After that, I packed my bags and was off to the airport!

Arriving in Osh, I found the Central Asian city that I had been looking for all this time. Huge markets that remind one of scenes from Aladdin: crowded, dusty alley ways covered in striped awnings packed with all kinds of goods. They sell everything from carpets to fishing gear, clothing to bicycle parts. I wandered around for the better part of three hours checking out the goods. Highlights included the beautiful hand-woven carpets that reportedly take 10 weavers 20 days to complete one square meter, blacksmiths hammering out horseshoes, and the food! I ate a LOT of food. Grilled meat, onions, potatoes, noodles, all washed down with fragrant teas from hand made copper pots. They use those old Russian, coal-powered samovars here, too.

In Osh, I was able to rent an apartment with 4 people from Czech Republic. They were a good group: 2 guys, 2 girls, and one American: MEEEE! The apartment was giant with a kitchen, living room, two bedrooms, and a dining room. We had a small party after dinner and chatted the evening away.
A Good DealA Good DealA Good Deal

My absolutely mouth watering lunch for a dollar
Otherwise, evenings are pretty mellow in Osh.

The following day I did some hiking around the city. There is a small mountain in the middle of town called, "Solomon's Throne". A nice spot to take in the view and the heavy breezes that float over the top. After a hike and a visit to the ho-hum museum (and a re-visit to the market) I found a guy that would take me to Sary Tash: my penultimate destination in Kyrgyzstan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

CheckmateCheckmate
Checkmate

Osh Chess Club


24th August 2012

Kyrgyzstan Travels
Hi Michael, What an adventure you have had traveling! I know you will enjoy your memories for the rest of your life.....even the not so good ones will become sort of good. I have never thought of visiting Kyrgyzstan (possibly because it is so hard to spell), but now that I know of the mountain called "Solomon's Throne" in Osh (easy to spell) it will be considered. Considering I am not adventurous anymore, probably not. My spirit of adventure has definitely faded with time. Enjoy your travels and return safely. Love, Fran
27th August 2012

Michael, We have enjoyed your blog so much. Looked forward to it when it arrived. I can't imagine the beautiful scenery that you have seen on this trip. You will remember this trip forever. I am so happy for you, that you are safe. It will feel good to get back to your apartment and chill out for a few days. Stay safe Love Gran and POO.
27th August 2012

Michael, We have enjoyed everything that you have printed. Some of it was scary but thanks to my beads, you got out of each problem unscathed. You have been very fortunate the whole trip. I am so happy that everything went well. I know that you will be glad to put that backpack away for a while and just get back to normal. Stay Safe. Gran and Poo

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb