Arrival and a Day recovering


Advertisement
Kyrgyzstan's flag
Asia » Kyrgyzstan » Bishkek
June 25th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived in Bishkek


after 23 hours of travel from Houston to Newark, Newark to Frankfurt, Frankfurt to Almaty, Kazakhstan, and a 2 hour car ride from Almaty to Bishkek. I was met at the Almaty airport by my friend's Father and two of his best friends, Sapar and Faruh, who were quite sleepy. The ride from Almaty was beautiful once the sun began to come up. Through the steppes and the foothills toward Bishkek.

I am staying with the family of my good friend and spent the entire day after arrival either sleeping or eating. My young friend Timurlan has joined me to help me negotiate the language and to get the things I need. I will soon have a Kyrgys phone number and other things that will help us to get along.

Friday, which I think is tomorrow, jumma in Kyrgys, is scheduled to see us travel to Lake Issykul and then on to Naryn, a city on the Eastern edge of the country. That trip should produce more pictures. I have a few to take today and hopefully, will be able to post them later.

So far, it is paradise. The weather is warm, but not Houston oppressive.

The trip was excellent on Continental Airlines and on Luthansa once I was in Europe. I have been well taken care of and have loved every minute of the adventure.

So, today is the first day of being out of the house with Timurlan. The adventure begins as we look for things we need, like chargers for the phones (2) that I either did not have or did not remember to pack, a razor (I brought mine but bought the wrong blades), and adapters for the electricity system for all the electronics I am carrying.

More later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb