Good morning, Jessie Sensei


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Yamanashi
September 1st 2007
Published: September 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jessie's First DayJessie's First DayJessie's First Day

Here she goes...
Our routine has changed significantly this week as school started Tuesday. Starting with an opening ceremony, which is not featured in American schools. This ceremony is used to signal the start of another school term, to pass out awards students earned from last term, and to introduce new students and teachers.

This is where I come in. I was asked to introduce myself to the students at this ceremony, in simple English so the students could hopefully follow along, but I was also being translated. When the principal called me to the stage and the students caught their first glimpses of me, there was a collective gasp and lots of whispering--I tried not to laugh, but this is not usually how people react when they see me for the first time!

Greg came along to the ceremony--he got many glances from the girls. I found out after from some of the teachers that many of the girls wished he was the English teacher not me! That's junior high girls for you. Anyway, you can thank Greg for the pictures.

The next day classes started, for everyone, but me that is. I had two very boring days at my
The StudentsThe StudentsThe Students

More than 600 of them, and Jessie will be teaching each one. Kushigata Junior High School students dress in their uniforms every day, with the boys in white shirts and black pants, and the girls in navy and white uniforms. They wear their active wear under their uniforms so when they need to during the day, they are prepared to work or play.
desk trying to look busy. The upside to that was by the time it came for me to teach I felt like I was very prepared. My classes started on Thursday, I had three Thursday, and three Friday. I work with five different Japanese English teachers, each with their own teaching style. Which means each class is going at a completely different pace. I have 18 classes each week (six of each 1st, 2nd and 3rd--equivalent to 7th, 8th, and 9th in U.S.) and will have to be very organized in order to keep track of all of them!

For the most part my students have been very good. I've been told that for the first couple weeks they will be preoccupied with starring at me so they will be pretty quiet. The 3rd graders are the loudest and most talkative and the 1st graders are the shyest, just as in the States I would assume. I can't walk down the halls though without everyone saying hello or cute. I am teaching them to say, "you are cute" so at least they are using complete sentences. It took me a while to catch on to what they were saying
The PrincipalThe PrincipalThe Principal

School Principal Mr. Tsuji introduces Jessie before her speech.
at first. There were a whole bunch of girls saying "cute, cute, cute, cute" with Japanese accents it sounds more like "Q" too, so I was very confused.

In the teachers' room, my desk is next to the lady who makes the lunch menu. We weren't quite sure what the English translation of her title would be, but we thought maybe dietitian. Her name is Mieko and she speaks enough English that we can carry on a conversation O.K. Her and the school secretary, Tomoe like to ask me questions and I give them mini English lessons. Whenever I have a big question I go to Matsuno Sensei, the lead English teacher, he speaks very good English. Everyone else in the office is very busy and keeps to themselves. Japanese people, even if they do know English are often shy about using it so in most cases I will have to initiate conversation

We also had some very formal Japanese meetings this week. On Wednesday we met the Mayor, who does not speak English and is very short, but very nice. We did a lot of smiling and nodding. We were asked to make some comments, which was
TranslationTranslationTranslation

Asakawa translates the English portion of Jessie's speech.
a little awkward especially with a translator. The Board of Education also hosted a welcome meeting for us where we were formally welcomed by the Board and the school I work at as well as by the 6 other ALTs who are working in Minami Alps.

We started our Japanese lessons today. We actually had met our teacher previously her name is Do (as in do you like sushi?. Most of the stuff we learned today we had been introduced to before, but it was good to review it. I have been trying to use a little Japanese in my lessons and with the teachers at work. They absolutely love it when I do. They think Americans are so smart when they can speak Japanese!

Next Saturday we are planning to climb Mt. Fuji--hopefully we make it down in one piece! We will have to write about it if we do😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Jessie's Shoe LockerJessie's Shoe Locker
Jessie's Shoe Locker

Jessie finds her shoe locker just outside the school a few days before classes begin. You can either bring your own, or use the plastic ones we can fit about half of our feet into.


4th September 2007

mt. fugi...
hi ya... you look great in your first day outfit! i'm so glad that you had time to feel prepared for class when you started teaching... i think that would be the hardest part so now it is all down hill :) i was just talking to a friend at work who has friends who just climbed mt. fugi and loved it. she saw pictues of them above the clouds and said they were amazing! i can't wait to hear all about it... talk to ya soon!
4th September 2007

First day of school
Wow! To give a speech to so many students in a new place, new country is truly admirable! Good for you! Nice pictures, Greg! Be sure to take lots when you climb Mt. Fuji!!!
5th September 2007

Wow, that looks just crazy with all those kids. I give you mad props for doing that because I would have been so nervous I could not have talked. Please keep the fun pictures and updates coming!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb