The End of Intensive Language Program


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Yamanashi » Tsuru
October 6th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Photo 8 of 12 I thinkPhoto 8 of 12 I thinkPhoto 8 of 12 I think

Everyone outside the concert venue in Tokyo. I think the person taking pictures was asked to take pictures with about 12 different cameras
Ironically, this entry is the start of my intensive travelblogging program. It's been really busy since the finals for the Intensive language program popped up. As such, I haven't really had a time to sit down and let you all know what I'm up to.

So we had the finals, and that went well. Unfortunately, the day after we had to give a speech, so we could not enjoy the festivities that typically follow a round of finals.

The speeches went well also. I was officially presented with my certificate from the fencing tournament in front of homestay families and tutors, which was awesome. Now everyone DEFINITELY knows that I am the number one fencer among Yamanashi high school students. EAT IT YAMANASHI HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS.

Afterwards we were invited to go to a recital peroformed by the wife of one of the Tsuru teachers. It was pretty sweet. We got to listen to Mozart and Chopin, and two encores, as I recall - for free! The recital was in Roppongi, which is kind of an upscale area of Tokyo. However, this translates to extremely expensive and full of gaijin. We literally walked around wondering where the Japanese people were.

Since this was the beginning of our ten-day break, most of us stayed in Tokyo. I had the great fortune of being able to meet the lovely Courtney Smith, and one of her lovely friends, for a sojourn in Yokohama, a city south of Tokyo, apparently Japan's second largest city, and home of one of the largest ferris wheels in the world. We managed to make it to Chinatown... In Japan (which is crazy expensive, btw), but unfortunately, we ran out of time and were unable to visit the Ramen Museum, though

Now at the end of the evening Courtney, her friend, and I met up with Toby and Kim. Toby, Kim, and I were staying at Kim's aunt's house in Tokyo, but weren't planning on returning until later in the evening. Apparently, this was not effectively communicated to Kim's aunt. As such, they had an email exchange which ended in "you don't have to come home tonight". Soo we decided to book it back to Kim's aunt's house.

Kim's uncle is a manga artist (comic book artist), and pretty easy-going cat. So, while Kim and her aunt shared terse words, Toby, Kim's uncle, and
Blue SteelBlue SteelBlue Steel

This is my Zoolander pose in the middle of a mall in Roppongi. Shortly after this a couple of Japanese people took a similar picture, so I didn't feel so much like a jerk for trampling someone's statue.
I sat awkwardly at the dinner table (about five feet from the living room, where the conversation was taking place), and smiled and made a lame attempt at small talk. As such, Kim's uncle decided on a solution - bring out the booze! The conversation resolved nicely and everyone proceeded to become soused, a lovely end to an awkward evening.

The next day I made a triumphant return to Tsuru for birthday festivities, which were amazing. My friends DEFINITELY took good care of me. Much booze was received, and many embarrassing photos were taken. I will spare my mother the details. What's important is that I had a good time, and now I am safe and uninjured.

If you want to read more about my adventures in Osaka and Kyoto, please flip the tape over.... now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Chinatown... IN JAPAN!?Chinatown... IN JAPAN!?
Chinatown... IN JAPAN!?

Forget it Jake... It's Chinatown.
The Cosmoworld Ferris WheelThe Cosmoworld Ferris Wheel
The Cosmoworld Ferris Wheel

Now THAT'S a Ferris Wheel. A double-dose of oriental wonders (what never cease).
The Only Way To Ride a Ferris WheelThe Only Way To Ride a Ferris Wheel
The Only Way To Ride a Ferris Wheel

.... with an ample amount of ladies. That is Courtney on the left and Mami on the right.
Kim's Aunt's HouseKim's Aunt's House
Kim's Aunt's House

Me, Toby, Kim, and Kim's cousin.
Christening My 21stChristening My 21st
Christening My 21st

Now, at the risk of horrifying my mother, I'm going to say that one of the gifts was some polish booze that was 96%. Let's leave it at that.
We Were Raised on the Street, fool!We Were Raised on the Street, fool!
We Were Raised on the Street, fool!

On that t-shirt is Gachapin, a very popular Japanese children's character. It is a big hit with the ladies. I think this is the end of the "appropriate" pictures...


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb