Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Toyama
June 17th 2010
Published: June 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

17 - 06 - 2010
So this is the first of many posts...

I'm currently at home in Denmark where I sit and stare out into the nothingness. my head is hurting from a good night out with the boys, and there's only 7 days to go before I'm leaving for Japan! Yatta!

It all began roughly 3 months ago when I saw an add on the internet about an Internship offer in Japan. I immediately began writing a application for it. luckily I got it.
Next came the planning of when and where to start. and for how long, I'm starting the 9th of August and the Internship ends the 28th of February.
I started collecting all the documents for a one year visa, roughly two months before departure. Due to the many documents needed, bureaucratic nonsense, and many trips to the Japanese embassy I finally applied for it a month ago, I got it 3 days later. (note to self, and others: If getting a visa, do so well in advanced.).
I also got my shots, moved my address, paid all bills etc. etc.

Now 7 days to go, and I'm beginning to feel a bit weird in my tummy, and really concentrate on my last exam this year which in Japanese. kinda ironic. instead I'm using/misusing "all" the free time, saying my goodbye's, reading about Japan's interest in Danish Environment policies or chilling in the sun.
Also the air at home is a bit unusual, my mother acts as if she's losing her son. And strictly ordered me to create a "emergency list", which of course is a good thing. (I know she loves me 😉.
so the countdown has finally begun, I have planned to leave Denmark the 23rd of June, and arrive in Narita Airport the 24th in the morning. Here I have booked a one night pension(5 other people and myself in the same roof... Scary!). I leave for Hanada Airport the following day, to fly from Hanada to Naha, and from there to Ishigaki-jima, a small island near Taiwan. I'll stay on Ishigaki-jima until the 25th of July, where I will return back to Tokyo.
From the 25th of July until the 9th of August, I will be able to see Tokyo and maybe attend Fuji Rock Festival (if my bank accounts allow it).
I fly home the 20th of December to celebrate Christmas and return to Japan around the 1st or the 2nd of January. When I finish my internship I will begin wwoof'ing, see www.wwoorf.org for more information about this concept. and after doing that for 2-3 months I will meet up with my parents and show them around Japan for a couple of weeks, to return back home with them.
so that's the plan so far, I will post whenever I can. Hopefully a lot, but I don't know how often Internet is accessible.

Stay turned for more awesomeness!!
Henrik!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb