Fish market and then to a fishing village


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 15th 2005
Published: May 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tsukiji Fish MarketTsukiji Fish MarketTsukiji Fish Market

the tuna are spread out and marked as they are auctioned off
I typed 7 paragraphs about the 3 days in Shimoda and somehow it got erased. Thus, you have been spared the details. Here is a quick synopsis of my few days in Shimoda.

Before leaving Tokyo, I went to the Tuskiji fish market at 5am. Then I head via Bullet Train to Shimoda. A crippled man on a bicycle helped me find a Minshuki (japanesse inn). The coastal resort town was quiet this weekend due to cold weather. Shimoda is famous as it is the landing place of Comm. Perry and his fleet on their mission to open trade with Japan (also the site where Russian fleet landed to open trade as well). Sat night I ended up in a cozy restaurant with no menu. The only four customers there were a group of men who befriended me. The owner (a woman) also fancied me and served me over 12 dishes of different foods of the town. One of the guys and the lady accompanied me to Kareoke later that night. I staggered home drunk to find the Minshuku locked. I circumvented the locking mechanism and found my bed. Woke up next day hungover and sick. Spend most in bed but wandered a bit aound town.

On Monday, I caught bus to Dogashima which is across the Pennisula.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Ending not so good for oneEnding not so good for one
Ending not so good for one

One of us left the fish market in worse condition than we came
Bullet TrainBullet Train
Bullet Train

Train travels at over 100 mph and got me from Tokyo to Atami in 30 minutes.
On top of Mt Nesugata On top of Mt Nesugata
On top of Mt Nesugata

I find this sign at a viewing station
Hofuku-ji ShrineHofuku-ji Shrine
Hofuku-ji Shrine

Before you reach a temple/shrine, you can wash your hands at these stations. Here is the one for Hofuku-ji that remembers the life of Okichi-san, the geisha who was ordered to be with the US representative Harris instead of with her true love, a town carpenter.
School girls in ShimodaSchool girls in Shimoda
School girls in Shimoda

Its great that kids wear uniforms to school and everyone rides a bicycle


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb