Transplanted in Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

From E-Town to T-Town


So... I swear I am not a blogger! Several of you may remember my anti-blog ramblings before leaving Edmonton. I still refuse to go blog-crazy, but here are some photos from my first days in Japan.

My initial moments in Tokyo were just slightly overwhelming. Tokyo is a great way to keep your ego in check... you very quickly feel small and insignificant. There is some irony (is that the right word?) in that most first-time visitors to Japan fly straight into Tokyo. I imagine it might be preferable for some to ease into the country by visiting a smaller centre first . Needless to say, Tokyo is quite an introduction and an unforgettable experience!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Tokyo StationTokyo Station
Tokyo Station

Here I am with fellow JETs about to board the Shinkansen (or "bullet train"). Because we were so excited, the trip to Hiroshima went by really quickly. In actuality, I believe the trip took three or four hours.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb