Philippines Bound!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
January 7th 2015
Published: January 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

My Grandpa Jay describes in his book, Commissioned in Battle, how "War brings forth the obscene and repulsive but, in so doing, heightens one's appreciation of beauty." This is inserted in his description of a sunset that his platoon witnessed while making the Luzon Beachhead, the largest invasion of WWII, on January 9th, 1945.

I read this while reclined in our business class seats on our way to Tokyo-Narita airport--our first stop on our journey. As one passenger overheard our conversation he approached to thank my Grandpa for his service, shared some of his story about serving in the Navy for some years, and eventually inquired about his book. As I explained that we were on our way to a memorial celebration for the 70th anniversary of the Luzon Beachhead, my Grandfather very likely to be the only US veteran present, I couldn't help but feel like I was traveling with some sort of celebrity.

Tokyo greeted us with a beautiful sunset as we stepped off the plane. A crack in the clouds released rays of sunlight that seemed painted onto the horizon. A kind lady attendant pushed my Grandpa along in a wheelchair (which he only uses in airports) as he lauded the Japanese for their fine treatment of the elderly. We passed by numerous brightly lit, modern-looking shops on our way to the Skyclub lounge, where I now type this blog.

Some adventures to come, I'm sure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb