Saturday in Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
September 17th 2011
Published: September 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Finally! Yesterday we slept properly! Aaaah.... woke up at 6 am, but it’s better than spending the night talking to one self. We’ve also discovered the BBC, so we’re in touch with the news-world again. This morning, with a vision of scrambled eggs and coffee on our minds we walk into Cafe 89 (written in French, to attract European tourists, I presume) – it’s very nice and quite large but there is nothing on the menu except drinks. If they bought a few eggs and some bread it would have lots of potential. For now, it’s just teas for us. Oh and a bit of bread with cinnamon (it was that or garlic bread, don’t ask me why!). We head towards the Tokyo Governmental Offices today – the view from the top is amazing (45th floor) and even though it’s cloudy today, we can admire the city while sipping on mango juice and beer. Note: everything here is MUCH more expensive than in London – example: a packet of post-its and a beer are each around £5 – tube, however, is cheaper than in London (well that’s not too difficult!!!). There’s a shop on this floor, a paradise of ‘Hello Kitty’ and all sorts of little stuffed animals – I want to take it all for my niece but careful!! Prices are crazy and still a long trip so need to control myself. Afterwards, we look for a barber so M can trim his beard (it’s starting to look a bit Neanderthal) and we find it. Let me leave him to describe the experience, his face was all smiles when he finished 
(M):
I looked at myself in the mirror this morning and couldn’t help thinking of Grizzly Adams. It was time for a beard trim. As luck would have it, my electric trimmer wouldn’t work on the Japanese mains supply due to large differences in voltages, or is it watts? Anyway, after asking around I was pointed in the right direction and found my way to a barber on the 5th floor of a department store. Using my best sign language, I communicated my desire to have all the excess hair on my face trimmed away and took a gamble that my appointed barber would understand. I was directed to a chair, where my barber started to trim my beard with a suitable trimmer. Just when I thought he’d finished, he started to place hot towels on my face and then started to apply creams to my forehead, face, around the back of my ears and neck. While the towels were doing their job, he started to shave my forehead, cheeks, ears (inside and out), neck and other areas. The towels kept being changed and were extremely soothing. More creams, more towels. I thought, OK that’s got to be it now. No. He then started putting hot towels on my head to dampen my hair. He then put hair spray on. I thought to myself, this is too much; it’s got to be the end. No. I then started getting a head massage, which then proceeded to a neck and face massage and ended with the clapping of my shoulders. It still wasn’t over. He then proceeded to style my hair and with scissors did a last pass over my beard and head. It was the most amazing experience! I left with a huge smile on my face, I felt elated. I even offered him a huge tip, which he kindly declined. He was just doing his job to the best of his ability and took pride in this. His satisfaction was to see the job well done and for his client to be immensely happy. What an incredible people the Japanese are. It was never about the money to him. In this way, all Japanese live their lives...

(B again):
Time to visit a new neighbourhood; today it’s Shibuya (one of the most amazing road crossings in Tokyo, according to our guide) and Harajuku. In Shibuya (another mini Times Square) we find lots of people crossing an intersection of 2 wide roads, but not less than in the underground, in my opinion! Lots of trendy shops too, a Stadium and a beautiful park with another shrine. As in Toshugu the other day, this shrine is being repaired (or protected, not sure) as it has a plastic cover imitating reality, which we dutifully picture. It’s more crowded, possibly because it’s a Bank Holiday on Monday (I’m sure it’s not called Bank Holiday here though!). Everyone is boiling today, even babies in their cots! I feel for all of us... we need some rain!! Typical me... I’ve left my water-proofs at home. I have a wind-stopper and a polar fleece (!) but NOT a water-proof. Oh well... I’ll have to join the other parasol-owners. First stop is lunch, but as the maps in our guide have been made for Bionic eyes, we find it difficult to locate and end up walking around an area of suspicious looking hotels (pictures of rooms, prices for 2, a bit creepy) which seems isolated from the busy Shibuya area. Finally, we give up and walk into some place out in the main road. We had noodles with meat and sea weed. Did I choose this? No. Was it nice? Yep! Had no idea what the woman was saying when we walked in, she pointed nervously to a machine which at first seemed like a tobacco one. Alas! It’s a food ordering machine: choose a menu (whatever it says, in Japanese of course so no idea – take a gamble!), pay, give her the ticket and eat. That’s the way it works and so I end up eating noodles and meat (while M laughs at my every effort to succeed in mastering the art of eating with chopsticks). Note: apparently the place with hotels is known as ‘Love Hotel Hill’.... mmmm, guess why! Today, I got another chance to admire Japanese-fashion details: I’ve noticed many women wear LACE in one way or another. I also haven’t seen one single lady without heels. Some older ladies wear beautiful kimonos, with wooden shoes which seem comfortable enough. A lady walking next to us was wearing... how to describe it... Pandas-shoes! (looked like night-slippers with a medium size stuffed Panda sticking out of the tip of the shoe) – even locals stared in wonder. Anyone who thinks they know something about Fashion, come here first!! Nothing is outrageous, everything is possible!! Off now to wash our clothes (didn’t do it the other day) and tomorrow SUMO!! Yes my friends, it’s the world-championship these days in Tokyo and we cannot miss it!! Bye!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb