Sayonara Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 6th 2006
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We came back to Tokyo on Saturday night and there wasn't much time left as were both leaving on Tuesday. We went out to dinner at an Italian place (I think Mom had had about as much Japanese food as she could handle on our two short trips) then I took her to Shibuya, the 'Lost in Translation' area of the city. We wandered around there a bit; it's really fun just to walk around and people watch.

Sunday we accompanied Yuko and the kids to her friend's house, whom I had met before and we had a lovely tea. I then took Mom to Ueno to bit of museum browsing, but it was pouring down rain afterwards so we didn't end up doing much else.

Monday Seiko took Mom and I to the Tsukiji Fish Market, something that I had wanted to do the entire time I was there. It's quite an interesting place and of course we stuck out like sore thumbs, esp. me stopping to take pictures of all the massive bloody fish all over the place! Afterwards we had a coffee then I had to head back to begin thinking about how I was going to get everything to Thailand and Australia (!), so Seiko took Mom to a museum. In the evening, we took Yuko and the kids out to dinner at Outback Steakhouse, then on to bowling, their first or second favorite activity, depending on the day, compared to karaoke. It was fun and I honestly got tears in my eyes thinking about how generous they had been to me.

Tuesday the 9th was the big day and I couldn't believe I was leaving Japan after four months. It's like anything I suppose; by the time you feel completely 'settled' and savvy, it's time to go! My time there absolutely flew by. I'm honestly not sure if I'll ever be back-I treated the whole thing as my 'once in a lifetime' Japan experience-but I hope so. It was difficult saying goodbye to everyone and even to Mom, as I wouldn't see her until August. But it was off to brave the heat in Thailand for 9 days...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Outback SteakhouseOutback Steakhouse
Outback Steakhouse

Refresher course on Australian terminology
Tsukiji Fish MarketTsukiji Fish Market
Tsukiji Fish Market

Yum, breakfast.
Tsukiji Fish Market cont.Tsukiji Fish Market cont.
Tsukiji Fish Market cont.

Warning: not PETA-approved
Tsukiji Fish Market cont.Tsukiji Fish Market cont.
Tsukiji Fish Market cont.

This guy was still alive as they were gutting him...the fish, not the guy!
Gift from mother-in-lawGift from mother-in-law
Gift from mother-in-law

So I can, you know, entertain everyone back in the states with Japanese dances.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb