Travels to the Land of the Rising Sun (Day 8 Tokyo)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
September 25th 2010
Published: September 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

By this time, Katie and I had seen most of the stuff we planned to see this trip. As mentioned in previous blogs, I was just looking forward to two more things this trip....... Going to a baseball game and going on that pub crawl in Roppongi (one of the main party areas in Tokyo). Unfortunately, the only baseball game started at 6pm and the pub crawl started at 7pm. I remember some of my fondest memories of Europe were pub crawls, so I decided to go to the pub crawl instead. First, however, Katie and I had to kill about 8 hours or so.

We started off the day sleeping in (the only day we've been able to do that). We then headed out to the Edo Tokyo museum. I had read that it was great, but I wasn't too impressed by the web site while researching info for the trip. As usual, I tend to know what I enjoy and what I won't enjoy when I travel. It's very rare for me to be completely surprised. This time was no different. Katie and I took the metro to Ryogoku as the museum is right next to the sumo stadium. We walked around the museum for about an hour or so. There were a couple kind of cool things, but overall the museum is a "meh". There were more models of stuff than actual artifacts and stuff like that. Somewhat disappointed, Katie and I headed back to the hostel for a little "pre-gaming". For those of you that don't know what it is, it's when you have a few drinks before going out drinking/partying. You do this to save some $$$.

At about 5:30 or so, Katie and I headed to our favorite local restaurant for yakitori, rice, and beers. After that we headed to the pub crawl in Roppongi. I was kind of worried they'd leave without us because it started at 7pm sharp (or at least that's what the flyer said). We got there like 5 min late, but it was ok because the plan was to party at the first bar for 45 min or so to ensure people got there. By the way, if you guys want to do the Tokyo pub crawl, you can save 1000 yen by signing up and paying on their web site. There were cool introduction games where they put you in teams. I ended up winning the intro game and this rock paper scissors type game. And my prize?....... free beer! Can never go wrong with free beer 😊 I was also named team captain of my team. My guess is because I was the most outspoken, assertive one of the group haha.

We stopped by a few bars getting free shots at each one, played games, and danced the night away. As you can see in the pics we had a pretty good time. We also met people from all over. A few Americans that decided to go to Japan and never come back, a few Tokyo-ites, etc etc. After a while, we headed back to the hostel and called it a night. Must say, it was quite a way to end the trip. Unfortunately, this would be our last night in Tokyo. I'm already getting the post traveling blues. Anyways, see you guys tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb