Blogging AT LAST!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
October 20th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mt. FujiMt. FujiMt. Fuji

Mount Fuji, or as it is called in Japan, Fuji-san. One word describes it - Majestic. (you thought I was going to say "Huge", huh?) I took this picture while on the way to visit the 5th Step of Fuji-san. That is the area where the hikers take off to make the hike up the mountain. It was absolutely beautiful.
I have been in Japan for just over 3 months and I have been looking for a blog site so that I can share my trip and adventures with family and friends, and now I have found TravelBlog. Finally! A Blog that I can use in English while in Japan. I had a wonderful Blog set up in the states before we came here and was very disappointed that once we arrived in Japan I was unable to continue using my Blog due to language issues within that Blogs program. Now I have TravelBlog, and I am able to share my posts, and take a look-see at posts from others that may be in my same area so that we can share information and tips. Blogging, here I come.

Oh, the things I have seen since arriving in this beautifully amazing country. I have had "Made in Japan" sushi, Bubble Tea, Gyozas that I bought and that I made. We have taken Japanese language classes and Japanese cooking classes. We have met so many people, and made so many friends. We have gone on tours and to festivals that we have been invited to be a part of. We have
Rice in the makingRice in the makingRice in the making

This is a rice field at the Niiharu Village where the rice plants have been hung over tall poles so that they can dry before the rice is beaten from the plants.
been hiking, biking, shopping, sightseeing in downtown Tokyo - WOW! and just walking around right where we are to soak up the experience of just being here. Those that have met us have said that we have "jumped right in". What else are we going to do? Our time here is not forever, we are aware of that. We want to be a part of this experience so that we take all that we can back with us when we do finally return home. Until then, we are sponges, shutter bugs, and extreme tourists, and we are having the time of our lives.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

A Shrine atop Mitake-sanA Shrine atop Mitake-san
A Shrine atop Mitake-san

The Shrine on the top of Mt. Mitake. Truly beautiful despite its age. It sits magically at the top of Mitake-san, rising out of the fog and surrounded by tall trees, flowers, and all sorts of life that share this very alive mountain.
They do still exist They do still exist
They do still exist

A very elegant and alive authentic thatched roof. Very few of these are still in exsitence in Japan. This one is magnificent, both in its construction and its beauty.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb