Time is running out


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
June 24th 2009
Published: June 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been negligent in posting. Lots of pictures to get up but I don't think I will get to them tonight. Things have been busy, really busy. As time is ticking down to my return home (less than 4 weeks), and my parents coming here (less than 1 week), I've been trying to get ahead of some things and do as much as possible in my short time left here. Seems like every night I'm coming home around 9 or 10pm.

The circle continues to be wonderful. I have a whole bunch of pictures I took with them when we spent a day in Yokohama and went to see the port, chinatown, and a night at an izakaya. It is amazing how big the circle has gotten since I first joined up. We are up from like 10 to about 30 in membership. With more people its a lot more fun, but also busy. We just keep planning and doing things. Moreover, I feel like I can really participate and contribute now in meetings and events. I'm not just there to do English translations and talk to exchange students anymore, which is a great feeling. And I think the circle has recognized me like that. Fair Trade in Japan still has a long way to go, but with the pace and enthusiasm this club is going at it, the movement will pick up, absolutely.

Also had a lost night in Shimokitazwa where plans backfired but it was alright because thats what Shimokita is for. I had 3 places in mind that I wanted to go, but didnt go to any of them, but found new places and still had a great time.

Waseda had a Global Festival the past weekend and the circle was invited there to do their coffee thing. Campus is really recognizing us. I showed the Japanese a thing or to about how to get a message out and be a little bullish in handing out coffee. Instead of waiting for people to come to us, I grabbed a tray and a friend, loaded it up with coffee, and went outside and started passing the stuff out with our flyers to anyone who walked by, and advertising our booth...in Japanese. At first, the circle didn't quite know what to make of the up-frontness but they caught on. Japanese are too timid sometimes. I have more stories than I can type on that point.

As for me, I want to get back home. These next 4 weeks are going to be busy and filled with great things. Going away parties, graduation, some amazing meals, etc but if I could I would hop the plane now and get back to my friends, my summer, and everything ahead of me over there. Speaking of summer...its way to late to still be in school. I'm all jumpy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb