From Taipei to Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
July 21st 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My trip in Taipei ended with a bang, a fun night out with Travis and all his pals. We attempted to go to this fancy club called *Luxy* but it was completely empty due to another big party somewhere else in town. We ended up in a tiny charming bar with colorful wall paintings and perfectly set lighting, topped off with the best music I have ever heard played in a bar. It is officially my favorite bar in the world (yes, it's true). The evening ended with a trip to one of the hundreds (maybe thousands?) of 7-Elevens in Taipei and early morning dinner/breakfeast eaten on the steps. We were out until 5 or 6am. I then had to say goodbye to my Travis and head to Tokyo. After ten days straight with him, I already miss his company!

Even in Tokyo I have been continually blessed with the generosity of friends and strangers. When I went to Estonia last April I made friends with a Japanese girl named Tomomi. When I told her I was coming to Tokyo she contacted one of her friends from college, Mari, and asked her if she could meet up with me. Mari put me up in her place for a couple of nights and even showed me around a young shopping town today. Originally I had planned on participating in Couch Surfing, but the person I was going to stay with was hosting 12 people for the next few days and I decided to opt out of that pig pen. Mari kindly called all of her English speaking friends to see if anyone could have me at their home. I will be staying with a friend of a friend of a friend for the next few days!! I am getting to see the Japanese side of Tokyo!! I am so very thankful.

People in Tokyo dress wildly. Fashion statements are everywhere! Everyone has a style derived from some larger group, and is sometimes taken to the extreme. You have the hippies, the goths, the girlies, the trendy, the slutty... well, everything. Today I saw a few girls dressed in bright pink fluffy doll-looking dresses, topped off with sparkly giant bows. I thought they were dressed for a play or something, but Mari told me they conform with the extreme *girly* Japanese fashion, what she called the exact opposite of the goths. Men dress just as nicely, if not nicer, than the women here. So many women wear high heels to trapse around the city, it looks painful.

The Japanese language is beautiful. The subway system is insanely complex, confusing and HUGE! The streets are sparkling clean. The city is extremely safe. They drive on the left side of the road.

Did I ever mention that no one steals from tourists in Asia? Or at least not in this part of Asia... It seems that everyone can be trusted due to the group mentality thing. No one wants to bother anyone else. Everyone does their own thing and always tries to fit in to not make anyone else uncomfortable, etc. I think this is the biggest cultural difference I see between home and here. Mari says that sometimes this is bad, because instead of focusing on being themselves, people focus on making others happy.

Hasta pronto,
Molly


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

5am5am
5am

After our early morning snack, in front of 7-Eleven


22nd July 2008

you look like youre having a good time. i miss you and cant wait for you to come home! only a few more days... :) :( ?

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb