Good Old Golden School Days


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 29th 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sleepy LadySleepy LadySleepy Lady

Slew of pics from the first day I took the camera to school. I have lots of people sleeping on trains.
Not even through with May, and yet I have many more photos to show everyone! I'm afraid I don't have much exciting to say along with them, but I do like letting them speak for themselves.

I've recently been taking my camera with me more often than normal. The result being the first large batch of photos on here. I took my camera to school for a couple of days to see what my so-called "photographer's eye" could see that my normal ones had not yet. The results were very rewarding! I hope you all enjoy them as much as I enjoyed taking them.

The first day's photos from school were just from a normal school day where I had an especially long block of time between classes. The second day's photos are mostly from one of my classes, "Cross-cultural Activities." It's very much like a class for preschoolers, rather than college students. One day, we spent the period folding origami birthday cards for the rest of the class. The class session that the photos come from were spent outside playing a Brazilian version of Duck Duck Goose and a Japanese version of Red Light, Green Light. Also Blind
School lunchSchool lunchSchool lunch

The legs of Liz (left) and a Swede who I don't know cause he doesn't live in Higashikurume. Nice guy, though.
Man's Bluff. I took part in some games, but mostly stood in the background taking pictures. I much enjoyed the results.

The last slew of pictures on here are from last weekend's field-trip (for a different class entirely) to Morito Beach. We spent most of the time out in the warm sunshine plucking creatures of the sea out of their homes and giving them a few good curious pokes. Much to the chagrin of the sea creatures. There were tons of crabs (both hermit and otherwise), brightly colored sea-slugs, sea urchins, barnacles, sea snails... The crowning animal of them all being an octopus with a head the size of my fist! -Any pictures of him/her that I have on here are credited to Caitlin, one of the other American girls in the class. I had at that point put my camera up for the day, by choice that I'd rather have fun wading in the tide pools than spend the whole time worrying about my camera getting wet. The photographer's dilemma, always: to join the fun or watch for good pictures. It was a choice I didn't regret this time. I'dve never even spotted the octopus otherwise.

Anyway,
HiroHiroHiro

A Japanese boy in one of our classes... Who looks much like Prince to me in this picture.
the only thing unfortunate about the trip was that it was somehow much harder to find our way home than it was to get there (got considerably mixed up on the trains), and a slight sunburn. Otherwise, it was a great trip, and I'd love to go back before I leave. I'll bet the sunset is just beautiful!

Well folks, that's all for this installment. More to come, of course, if anything exciting should happen! Until then!


Additional photos below
Photos: 91, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SentakuSentaku
Sentaku

At this point, I was just wandering aimlessly throughout the campus, lookin at stuff.
Tree TunnelTree Tunnel
Tree Tunnel

One of the prettiest places on campus
Bamboo 4Bamboo 4
Bamboo 4

Couldn't decide which of the two I liked more of this particular shot...
Bamboo 5Bamboo 5
Bamboo 5

So I posted both
ModelsModels
Models

In case I haven't said yet: Often outside Japanese restaurants, they have plastic models of the food they serve. This was outside the cafeteria


1st June 2008

Konichiwa
Wonderful pics! So glad you are having this opportunity - and, so glad you are sharing with us through this blog! I'm enjoying being the "fly on the wall" of your experience - at least through the camera lens. Hugs! "Ant" Debbie (Katie's coin for me)

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb