Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
February 4th 2008
Published: February 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Shinjuku NeonShinjuku NeonShinjuku Neon

It's the classic "lens zoom effect" shot of a Tokyo neon street. This particular road led to a slightly seedy area of the city.
Arrived in Tokyo safely on Saturday after a genuinely enjoyable flight. Beautiful views of central London and a cloudless Essex, a new improved entertainment system on BA, edible food and views of Fuji rising above the clouds as the plane approached Tokyo. Very nice. I chose to stay in a Japanese Ryokan (guest house) - Taito Ryokan in Asakusa, which is cramped and crumbling but good value for money. The most interesting thing to happen on the first day was a panic about money (I'd managed to mess up in a different way for each of my three cards, which almost left me in serious trouble.)

On the second day I woke to find Tokyo carpeted in snow, and it continued to fall for the rest of the day. Incessant, like English drizzle, but prettier. I stuck with my plan to visit the gardens to the South and East of the Imperial Palace, which meant braving the cold and snow-induced dampness. Fortunately I was rewarded with absolutely stunning views and even found an early-blossoming plum tree, eagerly snapped by passing Japanese. For food I sampled a couple of "instant food joints". At the entrance, you buy a ticket corresponding to
Asukasa ShrineAsukasa ShrineAsukasa Shrine

In front of the shrine, some Japanese visitors wafted incense smoke towards their appropriate body parts, in an attempt to heal aches and pains. Most, however, looked as bemused as me.
your chosen dish from a vending machine, and miraculously the food is ready by the time you've walked the three metres to the counter. A filling meal for less than two pounds, who said Japan is expensive?

Today there hasn't been a cloud in sight. In the morning I headed to Tokyo's famous fish market, which left me thoroughly unimpressed until I found the real market a short distance away. There was a constant risk of being run over by one of the small loading trucks, or worse, being soaked by a bucketful of fishy water. After that, I naturally had to try a bit of local sushi, which set me back 3.50 pounds for a huge platter. I have to admit I'm not yet a convert.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Tuna HeadsTuna Heads
Tuna Heads

Whoever positioned these tuna heads clearly had an eye for good composition - I certainly didn't touch them.
Imperial PalaceImperial Palace
Imperial Palace

This is the one part of the Imperial Palace that is on show.
Tree ReflectionTree Reflection
Tree Reflection

This intriguing shot was taken in Hamma Rikyu Teien garden - the Tokugawa clan's duck-hunting grounds.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb