Leaving Las Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
December 18th 2007
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

{In singapore waiting for flight to kathmandu; so, thought i'd type up my blog from yesterday}
I'm on the narita express to the airport. It feels a bit like a glory right outside of tokyo. I managed to see everything i hoped to see, and even some new areas, even though i didn't eat every place i missed, i guess that means ill have to come back agains as soon as possible. As i arrived at the airport, i will have to give up my cool keitai for my ole gunmetal grey blackberry, which i must admist does not completely measure up to the awesome keitais in tokyo, but considering everything, its not SO bad in the US.
Last night, as me and max went to a small district near shibuya (the hiop and VERY japanese chiquer-than-I-remember district where you see pics of thousands of people crossing the street together),we sort of came up with this: the keitai (cell phone) is to tokyo what an american convertible is to an ocean drive in the states.
Maybe a converitble isn't as uiseful in tokyo, since you wouldn't get far in traffic or the cold, and all the incredible designs and features on the keitais may be a bit overboard for a practical US town (and by practical in a japanese sense I mean gimmicky, shiny, and thoughtful). So, a blackerry will have to do. And I plan toextend its use in kathmandu, at least for use as a travelblog kepper come diary, since the guys at tmobile told me it works outside the us but inevitably does not...lemme take this call.....
...another noteworthy observation is that being here really took me back to my time living here, but in a deeper sense than I can explain adequately in a few sentences. Being in tokyo, for me, and confirmed by my friends, is like jumping out of an airplane (noticing I give lots of metaphors). You quickly build momentum and then you reach terminal velocity. ; where as max would say in his heavy italian accent; "Then it is unstoppable."
As much as I enjoyed being a tourist this time, i couldn't help but feel the wave that everyone rides after the basics of tokyo become second nature. (The wave I imagine is the japanese woodblock painting with the tsunami wave!)
What are the basics? How to catch a wave? Hmmm, it's difficult to explain because even the basics are dynamic, or do not apply in full. But basics language with writing, know the subway and JR lines, have a favorite place for peace (temple, gravesite, hakone), know what areas are becoming hot, and know some locals. At least, that woudl be a good start. Then, you can ride.
I'm starting to ramble, and it feels corny. So i'll stop for now. See you all in kathmandu. I still can't believe i'm going there, and that this incredible week in japan was just the stepping stone to my intended adventure!
LOVE

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb