Mount Takao


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
September 25th 2005
Published: September 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cleaning ManCleaning ManCleaning Man

There were a few of these on the Mountain. I'm not sure what they are.
In an event that wasn't even remotely surprising to me, I did not pass the Kindergarten's trial period, and I am unemployed again.

There have been many holidays here recently, to celebrate the Equinox, McDonalds even has a special edition "Moon Burger", that contains an egg. On holiday Friday, I went to Mount Takao with some Australians from the Guesthouse. The summit is about 600 meters up, and takes about 2 hours to hike to. There are plenty of shrines and vendors on the way up. Once on top, the view isn't all that great, because there's a fair bit of smog.

On the way down, we thought we were taking a shortcut, but we ended up in the middle of nowhere, walking down the back streets of a small town. After walking for about an hour, we ended up in a larger town, and finally found a train station.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Mountain EntranceMountain Entrance
Mountain Entrance

The fellow on the right is Pablo. He is Australian, and likes vegemite.
Flying SquirrelsFlying Squirrels
Flying Squirrels

Gliding, anyway.
ShrineShrine
Shrine

I've taken so many pictures of shrines, they're all starting to look the same. I should start taking pictures of my dinner.
Beginning of the HikeBeginning of the Hike
Beginning of the Hike

The fellow on the left is Alex. He is Pablo's brother, and therefore Australian and an enjoyer of Vegemite. He teaches English and tells kids inappropriate things to say.
TreesTrees
Trees

Lots of trees. "Ki" is tree in Japanese.
Wooden PathWooden Path
Wooden Path

Some parts of the hike were very steep. Not this one.
View of TokyoView of Tokyo
View of Tokyo

Nice view. You can see the train line in the bottom middle.
Little ShrineLittle Shrine
Little Shrine

I took a picture of this one in Black and White, but it looked bad, so I deleted it.
ChairliftChairlift
Chairlift

The first quarter of the mountain is the most difficult, so many people take this chairlift up.
Welcome To the Monkey HouseWelcome To the Monkey House
Welcome To the Monkey House

We did not go in. Monkey's are not usually very pleasant, with the fecal throwing and all.
ScoutScout
Scout

This is a statue of a famous Japanese Boy Scout, I think. He reminded me of a Mountie.
Three StatuesThree Statues
Three Statues

I haven't figured out why people put hats on them.
Statue with armsStatue with arms
Statue with arms

A bunch of statues had cups of water and money in front of them. I don't know why.
StoryStory
Story

I think these panels showed a story.
Tengu 1Tengu 1
Tengu 1

This is a Tengu. Note the water cups.
Tengu 2Tengu 2
Tengu 2

Another Tengu.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb