Yeah, yeah...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
July 18th 2007
Published: July 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

7-Eleven Meals7-Eleven Meals7-Eleven Meals

My mouth waters just looking at it... Delicious.
I'm alive and well. Haven't posted in a couple of days because I was too busy being in Japan. ;-)

I was in the shower during this earthquake I've heard so much about, and I didn't feel anything at all... The typhoon mostly affected the area southwest of here... It has just been a little rainy--lightly, at that--over here the last little while. No problem whatsoever.

Honestly, I love this city. Japan has got to be the pinnacle of civilization. There is nothing about this country I don't like... And it's not nearly as expensive to stay here as people say. All food is delicious (Warm, hearty meals from 7-Eleven and McDonald's?!)... And at most restaurants that aren't ultra high class you can get a huge amount of food for under like... 800JPY (about 8 dollars).

Highlights of the last few days:

Last night I went out clubbing again. Much fun. I keep meeting new friends at the hostel, and this friend of a person staying at the hostel who lives in Tokyo, (His name is "Sho" but I am uncertain of the spelling.) showed us a great club. Him and I also got talking about Gundam
ArcadeArcadeArcade

This is an array of Gundam pods...
Seed (A Japanimation show we both like) and he wants to take me to Akihabara to go shopping for action figures. Great guy.

Speaking of Gundams (Giant robots)... I've become addicted to this arcade game they have here, where you fully get to pilot a Gundam and have battles against other people. It's like a virtual reality game. But it gets better! You get a little ID card that logs all of your stats and upgrades for your robot, and you put it in the machine every time you play, where it will then update the data written on your card each time--it's amazing! (Though many games have similar systems here.) And as for multi-player, there are other virtual reality pods in each arcade, plus the entire country is networked so you play against evenly-matched opponents who are playing the same game at any arcade in Japan. How incredible is that?

Oh and for those of you who thought touch screens were high-tech... It's hard to find a public arcade machine or ticket terminal that isn't touch screen... Even restaurant menus have it. It's pretty wicked.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Get set...Get set...
Get set...

Inside the Gundam's cockpit.
Gas PanicGas Panic
Gas Panic

The name of one of the bars/clubs we were at. This one.
Partay.Partay.
Partay.

Andy, Sho and I... Andy disappeared for a bit that night, but we found him later. He did not recall where he was during this time.
Not ReadyNot Ready
Not Ready

They really weren't.
HahahHahah
Hahah

Me, an inebriated Australian man, and a traumatised Japanese couple.
The Golden ArchesThe Golden Arches
The Golden Arches

Fast food is good food.
The MorninThe Mornin
The Mornin

Natalie, Sho and I. I believe this was after a different club night.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb