Nothing much....


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SakeSakeSake

This is a sake 'keg'....So I am discovering how much I love sake...I never was a huge fan before, but when you start drinking sake in Japan with some locals you quickly realize how much fun your having!
Hi all. So I dont really have much new to report.....Im just living the day in day out of a working stiff....but I guess Im doing it in Tokyo. That actually sounds a bit cryptic and potentially mundane but actually it isnt either at all.

The month of May so far has been pretty chill. I dont have any friends coming to visit until miss Sally arrives on June 1. Its been nice because the down time has given me the ability to really focus on work and learning about the nuances of being an American conducting business in Japan. There are so many apparent/suttle differences/similarities. Over the last few weeks I have really realized how ineffective my communication skills are in Japan. Thats sounds a bit vague, but when you sit in meeting after meeting realizing that the way you ask questions or engage in conversation is neither effective or efficient....you begin to realize that you are no better off than an elementary student learning the alphabet. This concept is what I came to Japan to realize and face head on....its amazing and startling at the same time. For anyone conducting business in another country....one piece of advice....
SakeSakeSake

A few more....
most of what you think is helpful and useful is in fact NOT. Just as an FYI.

Other than work, I have been spending a lot of time at the beach. Although its a trek for me to get there, its so worth it....plus Im in training for when Sally comes and kicks my ass at surfing. 😊

Ive included some pics of local sights that I am discovering. None of these include the yummy meals Ive had or the shopping Im pretending I dont really do.....but they are some of things that I see a fair amount of....

I miss you all and love you tons!
Also HAPPY MOTHERS DAY to all the mamas on my list. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

:):)
:)

My ladies out on the town....
The third coolest urban park...The third coolest urban park...
The third coolest urban park...

Behind Forest park in Portland and Golden Gate Park in SF...Yoyogi park in Tokyo is pretty sweet.


13th May 2007

Hello there!!
Hi Katie, We are still here...when are you coming home. We miss you tons, but sounds like you are having a great time and of course I am living vicariously through you. We have big plans going on in our little family and hopefully when you get back we will have a thriving business; too bad you might miss the grand opening party. Love you tons and keep the e-mails coming, they are very entertaining. Besos, Mari

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb