Tokyo Day 2


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
October 7th 2018
Published: October 7th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I am feeling less jet-lagged today and have been busy seeing sights in downtown Tokyo. I have heard it said that Tokyo has no must-see sights, but has many worthwhile sights. I spent the morning right near my hotel which is across the street from Tokyo Station. My first stop was to see the Nihombashi bridge. It is on the site of the first bridge in the city and is guarded by stylized lion statues. Next I visited three skyscrapers that are office buildings during the week, but also hold shops and restaurants that were busy today (Sunday). I had lunch on the top floor of one and enjoyed the view over the imperial gardens. One can visit the gardens, but much of the grounds is off limits because the Japanese royal family still lives there. After lunch I took the train a short way north to Akihabara, famous for being ground zero for electronic games, animé, manga, and the people who love them - mostly teenage boys, I guess. There were lots of people walking around the area today. The authorities block off streets on Sunday so Akihabara can accommodate the crowds. There was one more stop I wanted to make today and it is across town, so I took the train to Yoyoji Park where people gather on Sunday afternoons to dance. The dancing they do is rockabilly and there were two groups during the time I was there. They played Chuck Berry and other recognizable tunes from the 50s, but they also danced to Japanese Rock and Roll. It was fun to see them. I’m not sure what to expect tomorrow. It is a national holiday here, but I think that I will find things to keep me busy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th October 2018

Happy Birthday!
Happy Birthday Bill! Looks like a great start to a fantastic RTW2 trip!

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1011s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb