Manga and "Dessert"


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
October 25th 2006
Published: November 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went to my fourth or fifth Dali museum today in Tokyo (as I have at least been to the ones in Florida, London, and Paris as well as possibly one more in the US). I felt really sophisticated as I felt like many of the people there knew next to nothing of my beloved Dali. Afterwards I
went to a half okay restaurant for ramen and tempura and then to the bookstore. Unfortuantely I think I need to train myself not to read the comic books as I am reading one a day and at this rate I will read a couple series by the time I leave Japan. I really enjoyed them though. I bought two more comic books and then got my stuff fromt he hotel to go to the station in Nagoya. It was the craziest station I:ve ever been to as I felt overwhelmed with people. Once on the train some really nice Japanese girl helped me to our part of the train (even though she spoke no English) and once we were to our section I sat in the aisle between two cars for a bit before people got on at the next stop - a family ended up standing next to me - Japanese wife, western father and two bilingual kids. At first the kids were standing near me separated from their parents by two people and then their mom ended up moving to stand next to them. I have literally never seen that many people before in my life. We were like sardines! I followed the signs to the subway aand then directions to my hostel once we got off. Checked in and put my stuff int he room before searching for a place to eat - ended up finding a western place - by myself. Int he end i had a large cesar salad and a quiche before deciding to go to a nearby bar for "dessert". I followed the instructions in the Book to a western bar and when I walked in everyone was watching what I assumed to be American baseball. I ordered a beer and sat to watch for a bit before I discovered it was the Nagoya baseball team playing the Hokkaido team. BVefore going home for curfew I ended up meeting a guy named Barry and his GM buds from Australia who live here every now and again but are leaving the same day I do to go back to Australia. They are really nice although they drink a bit. I am supposed to meet a Japanese friend of theirs tomorrow night at 7.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb