I'm back!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Machida
October 1st 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My bedroom!My bedroom!My bedroom!

My head touches the ceiling when I sit up!
I have finally got this blog set up ..... well, here I am back in Japan and it's great! I am living in Sagamihara city which is in Kanagawa, Greater Tokyo but TravelBlog doesnt give this as an option. Anyway, it IS beside Machida city. Machida city is cool by the way as it has a five floor 100 yen shop (about 50p)! AND a TGI Fridays! I had to travel 40 minutes to get to Tony Romas from my last place.


Sagamihara is not a very interesting place. Population is over 600,000. It is about 40 km from the centre of Tokyo. I haven't found out what Sagamihara is famous for although Camp Zama, a US Army post is located here and in the next city Zama. So that might be it. It has about 6 festivals throughout the year and 2 are ranked in the "top 50 festivals in Kanagawa prefecture". Which means they are ranked in the "top 2350 festivals in Japan"!!

There are lots of great 100 yen shops nearby, my best buys so far are a yoga mat and a shoulder massage thing all for 100 yen each!!

I'm sending some pictures
My homeMy homeMy home

I haven't fallen down the ladder yet....
of my lovely apartment. It is pretty cool. My futon/bed is in up in the loft. And I have a bath for the first time in ages.... There are 3 other English teachers in the building and we all live side by side. Pictures might be a little bit dark ... I still need to work out how to use my camera.

Anyway, we are off school until Friday. It was so hot today so I went to see the Big Buddha at Kamakura. Used to be the capital of Japan between 1192 and 1333.

I think that is enough for now! Hope everyone is well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

More of my homeMore of my home
More of my home

Note I have to kneel on floor to use laptop! V uncomfortable!


11th October 2006

Hello!
The apartment looks lovely. Post more pics!
12th October 2006

I'm so jealous
Geraldine, I'm so jealous you're back in Japan. Have you talked to Garretto? Also, your pictures of your apartment are nice and all, but when are you going to post the pictures of drunken debauchery in Roppongi?
12th October 2006

Hi Ger! Good to hear from you! How I envy you right now..... your place looks fabulous! Take Care and I can't wait to read more updates!
12th October 2006

Smallest flat ever!!
Hey, hey girlie, your flat is sooo cute. I would have to crawl on all fours and get the ladder reinforced i think!! Looks amazing though, its a far cry from where im sitting at the moment, yes thats right folks, the sunny and ever entertaining Gorbals! Its actually quit warm here today, doesnt feel like October at all. Post more pics so i can tell people stuff about Japan and appear more cultured than i actually am!!
12th October 2006

Your apartment looks cool, though if you are hitting your head on the bedroom roof sitting up i would probably need to crawl in and out on my belly! Hope you're having a great time : )
12th October 2006

Love your loft!
I'm definitely asking Ian to fix one up for me. In fact I'll just do it myself with the scaffolding that's always around since the last ceiling cave-in and with some old doors I'll scavenge out of the streets. I mean 'recycle', I keep forgetting to be Westendy. So where are us boyz sleeping when we come visit? Coz we can't get by that doormat! ; )
13th October 2006

About time too!
Hey Gellybean! I am so glad to see that you are enjoying yourself. I was wondering when I'd hear from you. I think that Hayley used to live in Machida but I'm not sure. Looking forward to hearing more news soon. Eeeeennnnnaaaahhhhh!! Wish I was there! Fee x
13th October 2006

bonnngggg
looks like fun. Just like the Japan i was stationed in during the war
17th October 2006

I'm thick
didn't even read this until deleting emails - didn't know it was from you. Flat looks cool. Tarlach wants to know are you 'big in Japan'? Do you get that?
21st October 2006

looks good
your apartment looks good, geraldine size, haha. hope you are having fun, if you go back after chrimbo i will visit again!
25th October 2006

Tell All!
Ok girl, so you have probably been skypeing many a person I know but you need to get more on this blog. Why not some pics from your all nighter in Roppongi? I can't believe you still have the energy for that!....mind you suppose you are not 30 yet! Oh what I'd give for a wee Roppongi night oot. Take Care, eat some melon pan for me. Feex
26th October 2006

Its bucketting down here in sunny Glasgow, fairly horizontal. Im well jealous of you right now. your flat look amazing ! Its like the Barbie appartment or something. ( in that its small but perfectly formed .. not pink and gawdy ) Anyway Im dieing to see more pics of your antics so post again soon. Also i still have randon drunken ingury from your party!! I staved my finger and its still sore and swollen - seems the severity of a drunken ingury corresponds to the amount of fun had! CHO!
1st November 2006

Skype is beyond me...I'm a simple sort...
Hey, Ta for your mail. I miss you living in Scotland, although it feels like Tara has lived in Edinburgh for years! Keep us posted. Andrea
4th November 2006

O-hisashiburi! (i think..)
Hey Geraldine, Glad to see it's all going good over there. As expected, loads of quirkyness I see, what with the milk carton art attack thingy and all! I'm back at uni, so up to me eyes in assignments and the like. Halloween was good here too, all them Derry ones are mad....pics to follow sometime. Hey, take care for now and keep them reports a comin! Joolz xx
4th November 2006

Come Home
Hi G, it all looks pretty cool, glad your enjoying yourself but your nearing the big 30 - Time to settle back in Belfast and stop the jet setting ;)
24th November 2006

i see - now i get the picture
did you buy that flat in your Hello kitty shop? JJ

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb