Sorry!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Kichijouji
July 30th 2010
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sorry everyone! I haven't been updating my blog as much as I'd like to be however I have been extremely busy as you can imagine. Classes started on the 29th and went fairly well. My Japanese class is extremely fast paced but luckily I think that the Rosetta Stone software that my mom got me gave me a good head start and should help my performance in the class. The history class is...well a history class and much of the information I already know from my previous Japanese history class but it's a nice refresher none the less. It has been raining here the past few days. Nothing too serious, but enough to be annoying, so I bought a kasa (umbrella) and will hopefully get some use out of it.
I was reading up on the JR East line that I use daily and the history of rail travel here in Japan and learned some interesting things. The Chuo-Rapid line that I use the most often to get from Kichijoji to Yotsuya is the most frequently used for suicides, which is a huge problem here. Luckily none have happened near me, but there was one 'human accident' at Kawagoe two days ago which I learned is the JR East's polite way of putting a suicide. Another interesting thing to note is that the Tokyo Subway Attacks that happened in 1995 happened on the Marunouchi subway line (and several others) pass right under my campus and I have actually been to several of the stations.
In lighter news though I visited Akiba (Akihabara) with Chris the other day so he could pick up a preorder of a PSP game that just came out here in Japan called "Project Diva 2nd" which I might be picking up shortly as well. We decided to try out a maid cafe which is quite an interesting experience. Basically cute Japanese high school girls dressed as maids treat you as their "master" and serve you food, draw pictures on your food (with condiments and the like), and act as general entertainment. We weren't really sure what was going on and ended up ordering this gigantic Omudaisu which is basically and omelet filled with rice. It was literally the largest piece of food I have ever eaten and they put on a big spectacle since we ordered it and danced and sang and we got to take a picture with all of the maids. Chris kept the picture since he paid for the majority of the meal which ended up costing more than I'd like to admit haha. However, it was a fun experience and certainly only one you can have in Japan.
I'm sorry there isn't/hasn't been a picture update but I have become way too frustrated with the Internet connection at my hotel and it always fails as uploading pictures, so that will have to wait until I get back. Anyways, it's about 11:20pm and I should really get to bed so I can actually wake up for class tomorrow. Oyasumenasai!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb