A NEW BLOG!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Kichijouji
November 1st 2007
Published: November 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=52AddbdClEo]
NATSUME SOSEKINATSUME SOSEKINATSUME SOSEKI

one of my fav authors
hey everyone! I was going to wait and publish this blog a little later in the week because as you can see i've been able to upload some pictures for you last night with some captions, but unfortunately i have not had time to sit down and write! it sucks! This week is the festival at my college and it is pretty much craziness...we are talking kids not sleeping in three days preparing for sat and sun. Tomorrow i have to get up around 7 to get ready to work at my friend's cafe where he is going to showcase his art at the festival tomorrow at 10am. So sadly I can't write anything again tonight!! I'm really sorry, i really want to just be able to sit down and write write write! mom told me that I should at least publish these pictures I got up tho so here you go. they are from various happenings throughout the past few weeks including halloween, which we celebrated on the 26th. love you all and hope to write to you soon!! love meg😊

ps - there is a video in the upper left corner next to my picture...click it


Additional photos below
Photos: 62, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

江戸東京博物館江戸東京博物館
江戸東京博物館

The Edo Museum
Residence of the daimyou Matsudaira TadamasaResidence of the daimyou Matsudaira Tadamasa
Residence of the daimyou Matsudaira Tadamasa

Matsudaira Tadamasa (1597-1645) This residence was a magnificent Mamoyama-style compound, constructed on a huge lot. In 1637, however, during the disastrous "Meireki Fire," this daimyou's mansion burned to the gound. Thereafter such luxurious residences wer no longer built.
Chounin Area ModelChounin Area Model
Chounin Area Model

This model depicts a section of the chounin area north of Nihonbashi Bridge during the early Edo period. BTW, the Tokyo used to be known as Edo.
me sitting in a 籠(kago)me sitting in a 籠(kago)
me sitting in a 籠(kago)

this was traditionally shouldered by two men, as my friend yuko told me.
old map of tokyoold map of tokyo
old map of tokyo

tokyo bay ... i think
model of workshop house model of workshop house
model of workshop house

during Edo period
Hokusai-eHokusai-e
Hokusai-e

a really famous painer of the time...i bought a book about him....kind of like ukio-e
Hokusai-e 5Hokusai-e 5
Hokusai-e 5

daily life in Edo
wood block paintingswood block paintings
wood block paintings

this is the beginnings of a wood block painting. they had a whole process in steps shown....i took a lot of pictures
wood block paintings2wood block paintings2
wood block paintings2

find the geisha...and my red shoes (i'm so mad my shoes got in my pictures! )
wood block paintings3wood block paintings3
wood block paintings3

find the geisha!
wood block paintings4wood block paintings4
wood block paintings4

Block cutting and printing: during the Edo period, books were printed either with woodblocks or with movable type made of wood or copper. Books and illustrations printed with woodblocks relied on a division fo labor between a publisher, auther, illustrator, block cutter, and printer. Yet despite the superb skills of those who created these publications, they usually did not even see their names indicted on the finished product...
SumoSumo
Sumo

a bunch of pictures depicting sumo strung up together
KabukiKabuki
Kabuki

model Kabuki stage


2nd November 2007

Thanks for putting up new pics however I still miss the written blog The blck market thing looks like it would be very informative the old guy has cool hair must be a throwback from the 60's Ha I'll send you an email later got to entertain your grandma Love you
5th November 2007

so ... while waiting to turn in my final exam today (which for some odd reason took like and hour and half longer than it should have) i read ALL of your blogs and i just wanted to say ... i love them. miss you and hopefully i'll talk to you soon. besitos!
13th November 2007

MODEL
So in reference to the model pictures: "What is this a center for ants?? How can ppl be expected to live in there...if they can't even fit inside the building?? The building has to be at least...three times bigger than this!" I had this really weird dream a couple nights ago that you and lauren came home, but i couldnt see you guys and it was torture. it was really an odd dream - oh and a guy that was referenced in my book was named gary b. nash, which i wrote on my hand to tell you and never did (that was last week). and i saw this really cool discovery channel show tonight where a kid's brain grew up instead of sideways and his eyes bulged, but the american doctors saved him, it was pretty sweet (that was a random comment, but all of the other were relevant). you know you miss me. come home soon. 143.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb