I brought bad weather


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ikebukuro
June 24th 2009
Published: June 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So apparently when I landed in Japan, I brought bad weather. I've been told that it had not been to hot and humid, and not raining at all, until me. I've only been here 5 days, but is has rained off and on through all of them. Today seems to be the worst, its been pouring since 6 am. It makes it hard for me to do anything, because I did not bring rain clothes. Everyone who goes on an extended trip forgets one important thing, well this was it for me. Rain clothes. I do not know what I was thinking coming to Asia at this time of year (aka the rainy season) without the right clothing. I have no rain shoes, jackets or umbrellas. I'm going to have a hard time getting rain shoes because I wear a women's size 10. Japanese/ Thai feet do not get much bigger then 6?
Well I got to Japan last Saturday night after much confusion. The plane ticket said that I would be landing at the Narita airport at 5:30pm on a Friday, so that is what I told my family in Japan. What I didn't realize was, it actually meant Saturday because of the time change. So my family was waiting for me Friday in Japan, which was Thursday in America. So when I didn't call them, needless to say, they were worried I was lost in Japan or had been swooped away by the Swine Flu quaritine at the airport. After much confusion, I made it to Japan on Saturday at 7:30pm. I stayed awake the whole plane ride so that I would be tired when I got there and go to sleep, not knowing that my Japanese parents were going to have me ride a 20-30 min bus to a hotel in Ropungi and then head to a Karaoke bar. So I ended up going out to this crazy Karaoke bar until 1:00am.
Japan has been a pretty chill and relaxing trip. I have not done any of the crazy normal tourist stuff or shopping. I've been spending quality time with my Japanese Mom Suzi, and her kids who I love. When I was here 6 years ago they were just 1, 3, and 5. Now They are 7, 8 (soon to be 9), and 11. Kaiya (8) and Zenya (11) used to speak English fluently to me when they were babies. Now they prefer Japanese and do not like being forced to speak English to me. I've really been putting my terrible Japanese skills to use. Rikiya (7) has never really learned to speak English, but he is the most willing to try to communicate with me. We have had fun teaching each other Japanese/English.
Tonight, I am heading out to Harajuku and Shinjuku with my new friend Masato-san. He is 20 and majoring in English so he and I can communicate pretty well. I am excited for that. I just hope the rain slows down (or stops!!) before then.
I leave tomorrow for Thailand. I have a layover in Taiwan which I am not to excited about. I get to Taiwan at 10:25pm, and my plane leaves the next day at 7:20pm... I still don't really know what I am doing in that time...I should really get on that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb