Hotel Living and first impressions


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Koka
April 12th 2008
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hotel Living and First Impressions.

From April 5th- April 8th

Well, I’m STILL living out of a suitcase…. But I have my own shoebox - I mean, room. I have some pictures to show you what I mean. I know I don’t need that much space, but it’s just something I have to get accustomed to. I’m just glad I’m not claustrophobic you know? The hotel (Minakuchi Century Hotel) is right next to a cinema and a shopping centre. Then again, everything is close to everything here….it’s not that big. Koka city is made up of 5 smaller cities…. Konan, Koka, Minakuchi, Shigaraki and the fifth one I always forget… Kosei?

There is another girl staying here who will be teaching around this area too. She has lived in Japan for almost 2 years, and her Japanese is brilliant. I’ve been relying on her (more than I should actually) when we head out to eat, or go to the shops. We went out yesterday to Minakuchi castle, which is really Minakuchi ‘small part of a larger castle which was rebuilt after most of the castle was destroyed somehow or other’ …. I have a leaflet somewhere - in English!-that has the information on it. I’ll dig it up later on. I do know that Tokugawa Ieyasu stayed there at one point, and also lord Hidetada (his son). It was basically their hotel. We walked around the moat -which still remains, but is no longer a sparkling blue colour - I guess the maintenance drops down when there’s no shogun coming to visit.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb