Busy, Busy, Busy...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shiga » Hikone
July 28th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I guess I'm not as good as this blogging deal as I had planned to be...
Hopefully, you're all not too disappointed. I have tons of amazing photos from around Hikone, Kyoto, Nara, Osaka, and Tokyo that I plan on posting to my Flickr webpage as soon as I get home...which, by the way, is August 8th.

The Japanese classes are harder than I ever imagined, and I don't get much time to play around on the computer. My homestay ended a week ago, and I'm back in the JCMU dorm now. It's alright...no more home-cooked meals or comfortable bed, but I do have a little more freedom here, like I'm used to back in the states. Before I left, my host parents took me out on the town. We went to a couple nice restaurants, and to a karaoke bar. Yeah, they made me sing...I chose Bruce Springsteen's 'Thunder Road' (how do you like that, Dad?). 😊 My host parents got drunk, and I got to laugh at them. Japanese people have very little tolerance to alcohol. Anyway, I'll get to see them one last time, at the JCMU closing ceremony next Friday.

Yesterday I gave a speech in class about my trip to Tokyo. It was difficult, because I had to memorize it, and I also had to write it out in essay form. It was around 700 characters, which really isn't a lot, but it felt like it! Glad that's over. We have 2 more class days, and a big final exam on Wednesday. Then I'll be FREE! There are fireworks here on Wednesday night over the lake, and I'm looking forward to that. It will be a good way to end the semester. I'm leaving for Hiroshima next Sunday. Gonna go out with a bang...

Today there is a big competition down on the beach called the Bird-Man Contest, an annual event that is also televised. It basically consists of a bunch of Japanese people riding their home-made bike-driven flying machines over a huge platform and into the lake to see how far they can get. I went down to the beach last night to watch everyone setting up. It looks really interesting! I'm going back there now to check out the action.

Japan has been a wonderful, unique, amazing experience, but I think I'm just about ready to come home. It will be good to see familiar faces, be able to communicate with strangers in English, and eat a big pizza from Aubree's...mmm.
I'll keep you posted about the Flickr pics! Sayoonara!

Advertisement



29th July 2007

Glad to hear
Thunder Road! Is there any other choice? We are so glad to hear you have had such a wonderful experience, karaoke bar and all. Can't wait to see the pics - Tess is here in NJ - leaving tomorrow, Monday. God bless my #1 - love you! Study hard for the exam! See you soon. D.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb