Day 178: Horse Sashimi


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saitama
September 22nd 2008
Published: September 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I held my chopsticks in front of me cautiously. The raw piece of Horse wobbled and sauce and Raw Horse juice dripped slowly on the table. I was starting to feel sick. I took a deep breath and hardened myself up. I'd been talking about eating Horse Sashimi for 6 months now, I had to do it. And besides what kind of tourist would I be if i didn't try horse? I'd be laughed off the backpacker circuit.

Another deep breath and the Horse was in my mouth.

I chewed furiously through the applause of my friends around me and tried not to think of Mr Ed.

Clip Clop.

Clip Clop.

The meat was stringy and chewy in my mouth with a strong repungent taste. It didn't seem to be getting any smaller and the smell was starting to overpower me.

Clip Clop.

Clip Clop.

The sound in my head was getting louder and the meat in my mouth seemed to be multiplying in size. From a memory somewhere back in my mind a horse whinnyed and I gagged, a drop of blood flew out of my mouth and landed on my napkin.

Oh god.

I admitted defeat and ran to the bathroom where I disposed of my Horse in an ungainly manner that was highly unsuitable for such a maginficent beast.

Never, NEVER again.

Advertisement



24th September 2008

haha
at least you got it in ur mouth...u can say that much!! hahaha
29th September 2008

Un-Tasty MEATS
sounds like me trying kangaroo. i bought kangaroo mince from coles as it was cheap and i was curious. i cooked it, almost spewing from the aromas, and after a brave teaspoon full i promptly binned it. Never, never again. LOL

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb