Osaka!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka » Shinsaibashi
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well. Wow. I've made it to Japan and it's every thing I ever thought it would be!

I arrived into Osaka airport safe and sound from Auckland, got through security and onto the bus that would take me to to Holly, a friend of mine who has been living in Japan for about a year and a half, I could not believe how long it had been since I had seen her!

We went back to her flat, stopping off at the supermarket that was lit up like a Christmas display, so beautiful but ugly!

We had a little chat back at base and then went out for a rather Japanese dinner... We had Okonomiyaki, which is a kind of omlette with cabbage in, well that's what Holly said, it turns out the name means you can have anything you want it! I can't say it is my favourite, but I got on with it.

We then wandered down the arcades of Shinsaibashi, me mouth open, amazed at everything! It's all just so different, so bright and so Japanese.

Holly and I went into a little photo booth, and took some cute pictures of ourselves, which we then graffitied on at the computer and then printed off sone wonderful works of art...

The following day I went along to Osaka Castle, I would probably not use the word castle, but thats how we translate their word Jo! It was very nice to see something traditional after all the sites of Osaka centre!

I then went back to the area where Holly and I had been the night before, Shinsaibashi. I continued to walk along, mouth open taking it all in... I bought some new shiny red trainers that it would be quite difficult to find anywhere else! They're nicer than I've made them sound...




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

School kidsSchool kids
School kids

I seem to remember Japanese people taking pictures of me when I was a child, so I decided to return the favour
Local LooLocal Loo
Local Loo

It turns out there's usually at least one western style near by


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb