Ryukyu Islands


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
October 1st 2015
Published: October 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

'Nirai Kanai'. This was how people from Okinawa defined in the past 'paradise', which they believed was beyond the sea.

I spent one month in Okinawa.

I was living in a crazy guesthouse in Naha and traveled here and there.

I visited many museums and historical places. I ate delicious Okinawa soba and Ume budou. I learned how to run away from Goya and to love the amazing beaches of the beautiful Okinawan islands.

Naha is a very cool city. People are friendly and peaceful. Naha people like to relax and also to have fun, so the city has many clubs and bars.

Kokusai street is the main touristic spot, and you can access the market from there (full of streets with souvenir shops and food stalls).

The Churaumi aquarium is expensive and far from Naha (so you either have to go with bus or car. No trains in Okinawa!). I'm against aquariums and zoos, still I think there is a lot to do until they disappear. Anyway, I was totally disappointed by the main tank that was overcrowded (3 whale sharks, many manta rays and lots of other sharks and fishes swimming in a mad never-ending circle. This tank should be much bigger/or/whale sharks shouldn't be in a tank. Despite all this, the other tropical tanks were nicely entertained and were pretty adapted.

Next to the aquarium there is the beautiful small Minna island (or Croissant island, because of its shape).

I also visited the central area of the main island and went to Ikei beach (which I don't recommend because you have to pay to enter and because you cannot snorkel without paying again for a life jacket).

The south area has very nice beaches which you can access by bus. I liked Mibaru beach very much (except after typhoons, because the algae make the water color turn green).

Kerama Islands were my favorite place. Beautiful beaches, turtles, corals, fishes, dragonflies and friendly people. I would gladly live there.

I still have to visit the north side of the main island and the other beautiful beaches in islands such as Miyako and Ishigaki, so I will be back for sure.

I'm definitely in love with Okinawa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 77, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0988s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb