Snokeling at Sunabe Seawall


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
January 1st 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Kim and James at Sunabe SeawallKim and James at Sunabe SeawallKim and James at Sunabe Seawall

We're obviously having a great time!

Snorkeling at Sunabe Seawall



James and I kicked off the 2010 by snorkeling at Sunabe Seawall. There were a lot more fish out here than at Zampa Beach and the current wasn't nearly as bad. We also got to see some pretty cool things.

There was a very small crab shell that I saw about 15 feet below the surface resting on the coral. I dove down and brought it up to the surface to show James. As we were examining it and taking photos, the crab started coming out of his shell to attack my hand. I had to keep flicking him in the face lightly so I wouldn't get pinched by his claws. Not too nice of me... When we were finished checking him out, I swam back and placed him on the ledge where he was originally resting.

We also saw lots of Sergeant Majors. They were swimming up to us thinking we had food...nope...sorry guys. And of course as soon as I dove down to try and get a picture of them swimming around James, they all decided that we were no longer interesting. The photo-op never happened...

In addition to the crab
CrabCrabCrab

He was attacking my hand and trying to defend himself.
and sergeant majors, I noticed the usual array of various types including butterfly fish, angelfish, several box puffers, lizardfish, and some parrotfish.

After about 40 minutes of swimming around, I started getting a bit chilly so we headed in. Once again, it was another terrific day of snorkeling on Okinawa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

James at Sunabe SeawallJames at Sunabe Seawall
James at Sunabe Seawall

He's all smiles as we check out the fish.
Kim at Sunabe SeawallKim at Sunabe Seawall
Kim at Sunabe Seawall

Totally enjoying myself...explaining the huge smile.


Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb