Japanese McDonald's and Kurashiki Dam


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
March 15th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kim Overjoyed at McDonaldsKim Overjoyed at McDonaldsKim Overjoyed at McDonalds

Shrimp Burger and Fries

Japanese McDonald's and Kurashiki Dam



After church today Bernard and I went to a photography store to print off some pictures to hang in my room and office at work. Right beside the store was a McDonald's and when I mentioned that I hadn't been to one since arriving here on Okinawa, Bernard insisted that we go so I could try the shrimp burger. It was actually really tasty. With all my traveling in Europe, I've noticed that each country sells the traditional "American Menu" but also includes several items unique to their culture. In Japan, you can buy a burger with a fried egg on top of the meat pattie, different types of tea, a double Big Mac (4 patties...but it's actually smaller than the American version), a shrimp burger, and several other items. Portions here are A LOT smaller too! I ordered a large and it was probably the equivalent to a medium. I didn't see an option to "Biggie Size" anything either...Maybe this is why the Japanese are so small? They don't stuff their faces like we do back in the States.

After getting some lunch, Bernard and I went to San A so I could
Kim's not a child....Kim's not a child....Kim's not a child....

Checking out the views from the tower at Kurashiki Dam
go grocery shopping. Wow! I should really shop there more often since the quality of food is just so much better than the commissary on base. I bought chicken tenderloins, some really nice looking broccoli and green beans, bread, small little containers of yogurt (maybe about half the size we get back in America), bananas, some sesame seed salad dressing (one container for me, one for my parents, and one for my sister and her husband), and curry powder and Aquarius drink mix (for a good friend back in the States who craves these items).

Then it was off to Kurashiki Dam. This dam is located near my church and I've been meaning to go for a while now but just have never had the time. There were some paved paths to walk on which took Bernard and I past some man-made waterfalls. There was also a huge tower which overlooked the dam and the surrounding jungle. We found a sign asking children not to sit on a high ledge in the tower...I decided that I wasn't a child so I climbed up on the ledge to get a better view (hence the photo attached). This is an excellent place to have a picnic and I think I'll come back during the summer one afternoon following the morning church service.

More photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/kdupak/15March2009KurashikiDam?feat=directlink

Advertisement



15th March 2009

Japanese lifestyle
Hey Kim, Nice post on the Japanese lifestyle! It actually has helped settle a discussion I was having with my girlfriend about Japanese McDonald's! She said that it's much different to the British equivalent but I wasn't convinced! The shrimp burger proves me wrong, there is certainly nothing like that in the UK and I don't remember anything like that in summer when I was visiting the USA! But to answer your question, the Japanese are so small because its in their culture. There is pressure on being small as smaller is seen as better! However it's also down to their very healthy lifestyle, where anyway that they can remove the fat from the foods they eat they do! How long are u in Japan for? Hakan Karaagac

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb