Rainy in Nara


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nara » Nara
March 29th 2006
Published: March 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday afternoon I arrived in Nara which is about 45 minutes from Kyoto. I checked into my hotel, which took a bite out of my budget, but there was absolutely nothing else available. It was raining when I got in, but I stopped in at a shop a picked up an umbrella and toured the city. They have this big dear park in Nara, where all these dear just roam about freely. There not even really fenced-in and you occasionally see them walking around on the sidewalks and the road, around temples etc. I watched as this Japanese couple tried feeding one of them, but then bascially got swarmed by a group of dear who were hiding out in the bushes. I just watched in amusement as they tried to get away but kept getting cornered by other dear. I checked out a couple of shrines and temples and pagodas, but I think at this point I'm all templed out. I crashed at about 7:00pm and just slept until 7 the next morning. I got up and checked out one more temple in the city, only because it's the largest wooden building in the world and housed the largest buddha in the world which was pretty cool. But again, it was cold and raining so it wasn't the most pleasant walk. Next I'm back to Kyoto for a few days at the Gojo guesthouse before I head southwest to Fukuoka.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Daibutsu-den Daibutsu-den
Daibutsu-den

Largest wooden building in the world


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb