Nara: Day 60 to 64


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nara » Nara
April 3rd 2024
Published: April 8th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Hasedara Temple Hasedara Temple Hasedara Temple

Monks at Hasedera Temple
I reached Nara after an journey involving multiple transfers and as I would learn later, in Japan, most travel includes multiple transfers.

Having rested the first night, the next day I headed to the Hasadera Temple based on Mount Kamakura.

Built in 736, the temple is famous for having one of the largest wooden statues in Japan, of Kannon, the Goddess of Mercy.

The sprawling temple complex has a beautiful garden and when I was there, the Cherry Blossoms were just beginning to open up.

The monks in the temple blow the conch at specific times and also chant prayers, in the midst of the natural beauty, the prayers sound surreal.

I spent many hours exploring the nooks and corners of the temple complex and enjoying it's natural beauty.

Later, I also visited the nearby Yokitenma Shrine (much smaller, no tourists) and another small temple.

I sampled Yakimochi and Kusamochi, two Japanese sweets (Yakimochi is hot, Kusamochi is cold) made from rice cake (Mochi). I had these at a small family run stall and they were delicious.

Next day, I explored the attractions of Nara which included the Yoshikien Garden (with its moss
Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple

Pagoda at Hasedera Temple
garden, pond garden and a tea garden), the Himuro shrine (shrine for Ice God) and Todaiiji Temple (saw from outside, was super crowded).

I also explored the famous Nara Deer Park, an area of 650+ Hectares where 1,000+ deers roam freely. Considered as messengers of God, the deers are well protected and fed rice cookies (sold specifically there for them) by tourists. I saw some deers nipping on tourists and felt that as cute as they appear, they are wild animals and we need to give them some space.

My next plan was to do a hike in the Katsugayama Primeval Forest and I was following Google maps to the start of the trail.

However, I ended up at the Kasuga Taisha Shrine, and I observed two priests offering prayers. I watched them going to temple after temple within the shrine offering prayers and I kept following them as long as I was allowed.

I realised I could start the hike from there itself than where Google maps was pointing and I started to hike.

Almost every hiker was coming from the other end, my path was a slight climb up and my first thought
Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple

Hasedera Temple flowers
was that I probably chose the wrong end to start.

The forest itself has been protected (no logging, no hunting) for 1,100+ years and hence the old trees give a serene experience as you hike through.

At the end of the hike, I reached a short climb up to Mount Wakakusa and realised I had actually been fortunate. Everyone was doing a very sharp climb up to Mount Wakakusa from the other end and those who did the hike had the minor climb down, by doing it the other way, I had done minor climbing up but had converted the Mount Wakakusa steep climb into an easy stroll down the mountain.

Sometimes in life, when you think others are more fortunate than you, remember you don't know their context and you don't know what the future holds for you. Also, random events sometimes guide you to better opportunities, like the discovery of Kasuga Taisha Shrine had done for me.

In the last day, I took some much needed rest, explored Nara in the evening a bit including the Kofuku Ji Temple.

For me, Nara was my first experience of Cherry Blossoms of this season. It
Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple

Cherry Blossoms at Hasedera Temple
was also where I encountered happenstance to be a guiding force in travel and for that I feel blessed.

I am also becoming better at skipping the touristy places and crowds and following where my heart leads.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple
Hasedera Temple

Cherry Blossoms at Hasedera Temple
Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple
Hasedera Temple

Hasedera Temple
Hasedera Temple Hasedera Temple
Hasedera Temple

Cherry Blossoms at Hasedera Temple
Moss Garden at Yoshikien Garden Moss Garden at Yoshikien Garden
Moss Garden at Yoshikien Garden

Moss Garden at Yoshikien Garden
Todaiiji Temple Todaiiji Temple
Todaiiji Temple

Todaiiji Temple
Kasuga Taisha Shrine Kasuga Taisha Shrine
Kasuga Taisha Shrine

Prayers at Kashuga Taisha Shrine
Katsugayama Primeval Forest Katsugayama Primeval Forest
Katsugayama Primeval Forest

Hiking through Katsugayama Primeval Forest
Katsugayama Primeval Forest Katsugayama Primeval Forest
Katsugayama Primeval Forest

Hiking through Katsugayama Primeval Forest
Nara Deer Park Nara Deer Park
Nara Deer Park

Nara Deer Park


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb