Monkey Parks and Onsens


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

199819981998

That was at the Train Station in Nagano. They still think it is 1998!
Hey ol' buddy ol' pal, another crazy weekend in the books, I think this one def topped all the rest in terms of edge of your seat excitement and just all around awesomeness though. So 5 other fellas and I decided we wanted to go to the town of Yamanouchi, which has a world famous monkey park located there. Yamanouchi, just so happens to be not too far from Nagano, the sight of the 1998 Winter Olympics. I have a feeling the people there have just wanted to keep pretending that it is 1998 for the rest of time. I mean really, I thought we just missed the Olympics or something, but no, we missed them by a decade.

So first stop at Nagano was at world famous Zenko-Ji Temple. It was really amazing, we went to the inner chamber and then we went into an underground tunnel that went under the main temple, and it was in pitch darkness. All this was also done barefoot, so it was an interesting experience. Overall it was a really nice place to visit, but after an exhausting bus ride and wandering around all day we were ready to get to our reyokan,
Baby at TempleBaby at TempleBaby at Temple

This is a little baby in front of the Zenko-Ji Temple
which is an old style Japanese Inn.

Now the Reyokan, that was really the most unique experience I think I might have ever had. First off, you arrive and see that three people are sharing a room, and the beds are more like mattresses on the ground. Then the sitting area is already all set for tea, and instead of seats you sit on pillows with your legs under the table. But worry not, there are FEET WARMERS under the table to keep your little toeseys warm. Then you see it, you don't want to believe it is real, but deep down you know it is. Yes, it is official, you are in Japan for real now. In case you have not figured it out or seen the picture yet, I am talking about an old style Japanese robe, otherwise known as a yukata. Why would they give you a yukata you ask, well literally means bathing clothes, so get ready for the ONSEN (after enough sake to get you comfortable enough to be naked with 5 other guys)

So yes yes, I was in an onsen, and it was relaxing as hell. Nude guys be damned, I
Sperm BoozeSperm BoozeSperm Booze

this is booze in the shape of a sperm. That is all....
enjoyed myself. And guess what Nisshi?! I'll be doing it all over again in a little under a week. Yep, another onsen trip is on its way. But I am not one to get ahead of myself, how could I forget of the adventure known as Monkey Park?

So it was the day after the onsen, and we were soo pumped to see some monkeys, and boy did we get our monies worth. Furreal, it was one of the most surreal things I have ever seen. We were in a park filled with monkeys. And it is not like they were in cages or anything. Nope! They were roaming free like they were intended to. We saw fightin' monkeys, lovin' monkeys, and one monkey that I really liked, he had a stone that a bigger monkey took from him, and he fought like hell to get that stone back. I can respect that. Oh yeah, I felt really connected to those furry friends because they had an onsen all of their own. Theirs were filled with urine and poo, but it was an onsen nonetheless.

It was really great to get out of Tokyo, and see the countryside.
Me in a robeMe in a robeMe in a robe

This is the robe we got at the place we stayed at when we were at Yudanaka
Tokyo is great and all, but there is a whole big country over here. The people outside of Tokyo were so much nicer, even if there was an even bigger language gap between us. Well I finally am getting over a cold, so I hope the rest of this week/weekend will be action packed and a lot of fun. Who knows! I'll talk to you all out there in internet land later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Attack by a Charmander Attack by a Charmander
Attack by a Charmander

After getting out of the onsen, I was randomly attacked by a Charmander
Monkeys!Monkeys!
Monkeys!

This is a group a monkeys I saw at the Monkey Park
Monkey Onsen!Monkey Onsen!
Monkey Onsen!

This is a hot bath filled with monkeys that was at the monkey park. Truly a sight.


6th February 2008

What did the sperm liquor taste like? Milky with a tinge of salt?

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb