Third times a charm for Sakura bliss


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Miyagi » Wakuya
April 26th 2006
Published: April 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The sakura (cherry blossoms) have finally bloomed in Miyagi and with them, have come the sour knowledge that this is my 3rd and final sakura season. No more drinking beer on tarps under the trees and pretending I'm not freezing (because I can't wear my shoes on the freakin’ tarp...)

Sakura season is beautiful here in Japan, and although my sarcasm may lead you to suspect the cold nights outweigh their beauty, I really do enjoy this "magical" time each year. One thing I’ll really miss is talking about them. You see, a major topic of daily discussion in Japan has always been (and always will be), the weather:

"Cold today, isn't it?" "Yes, it's cold";
"There's a breeze today, isn't there?" "Yes, there is a breeze."
"The Sakura are plentiful" "Yes, so they are!"

Since Japan has always been such an agriculturally conscience country (contrary to some of your misconceptions that all Japan is, is skyscrapers and billboards), weather is obviously important. Especially in my rural town of Wakuya, everyone observes and comments on the weather conditions daily, most probably, because the habit has been passed down. Farmers commenting on the harvest conditions, rice growth, tomorrow's conditions etc. The same can be said of sakura season. As soon as the snow melts, the words on your tongue are:

"Soon, the sakura will bloom"
"When will the sakura bloom?"
“I want the freakin’ sakura to bloom!”

and then when they finally show themselves, all you can utter is:

"Such beautiful cherry blossoms!"
"How beautiful this year!" etc etc…

…and of course the most popular sakura-related question to the foreigner: "Do you have cherry blossoms in YOUR country?" to which I obviously reply that no, the Japanese are the only ones lucky enough to have cherry blossoms in such abundance, and their accompanying festivities.

Speaking of festivities, over the past two weeks, I’ve been out every single night and weekend celebrating these blossoms and I’m exhausted. Starting April 15th and continuing until NEXT week, it’s party central. Fireworks, horse races, dancing, drumming, doll making, flea markets, even the old folks start drinking at 9am...everything you could ask for from two weeks of festival madness. Enjoy the pictures and for those of you in Japan with me, I hope you’re enjoying your own hanami parties. Happy Sakura Season everyone!

***”hanami” literally means to look at flowers. (hana=flower; mi=to look) and there you go!



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

April 15th, we had a hanami party at the castle. It was so cold this year, that my friends and I were the only people actually sitting. Others just walked quickly by...
Chris, Eric, me and Sano-sanChris, Eric, me and Sano-san
Chris, Eric, me and Sano-san

so cold...oh so cold
chocolate covered banana goodnesschocolate covered banana goodness
chocolate covered banana goodness

Meredith and Toshiko...and the ever-phallic choco-bananas
TaikoTaiko
Taiko

Japanese drumming as performed by the Wakuya Taiko group, famous for their routines all over Miyagi
"Everyone! group picture!""Everyone! group picture!"
"Everyone! group picture!"

The Wakuya suzumi dance troupe (I'm sure I spelled that wrong)
ToshikoToshiko
Toshiko

So beautiful at 60...
Toshiko and IToshiko and I
Toshiko and I

This is the head of my Wakuya adult conversation class (eikaiwa), Sasaki Toshiko. She also happens to lead the suzumi dance group.
I call him "monkey"...I call him "monkey"...
I call him "monkey"...

for obvious reasons.
Castle viewCastle view
Castle view

If Japan had those little "Kodak moment" stands like they do in West Canada, this would be Wakuya's. Best view of the whole castle.
Horse raceHorse race
Horse race

This was pretty sad actually. The poor horses were whipped the whole way...very sad. My grandfather tells me thats now illegal in Canada.


26th April 2006

ours haven't even bloomed yet!
Hey Bella, long time no chat! Wakuya's sakura look awesome - am jealous, ours haven't even popped yet! Supposedly any day now but am getting tired of waiting, although hopefully this weekend will be full of hanami fun. lots of love N
8th August 2006

natsukasii!!
Cherry blossoms viewing... it was only a couple months ago but it seems like it was way before....
30th August 2006

Irkourztk
Hello Girl, We are in moscow still thinking about you, I miss you already. Good to see your blog and we ll follow up your trip\take care

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 14; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb