Summer Is Officially Here


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mie » Yokkaichi
June 19th 2010
Published: June 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, the lull has ended. Those two weeks between winter and summer that are gorgeous, sunny and perfectly temperate are behind me and in their place have been left the sticky, muggy, unbearable heat that goes along with Japan's rainy season.

It's impossible to explain exactly how bad the weather gets. You really have to be here to experience it. Let's just say that I've never had my pants stick to my body while sitting in a chair the way they did today. You sweat, constantly, and nothing helps. For whatever reason our BOE has established the arbitrary date of July 1st as the day we can turn on the A/C - despite the fact that the past couple of days have been over 30C. Ugh. Trying to teach half comatose students is not the easiest thing in the world.

Speaking of which we had teaching demonstrations today - yes, I worked a full day on a Saturday. I only found out a day ahead of time about the teaching demonstrations - "Oh by the way there will be 100 students and their parents as well as teachers and people from the BOE to watch your lessons." Surprise! It went okay though despite my lack of notice. The students cooperated and the parents seemed interested. The other ALT I work with told me that he walked around to see some of the other teaching demonstrations and they were all lecture style. I guess we're the only ones that try and incorporate a variety of activities? The lecture style makes sense because that's how university is, but it's boring as hell.

So teaching demonstration day went okay and tonight I finally managed to get the wireless router I've had sitting in my kitchen since last August working. 10 months? Must be a new record! I'm just happy I don't have to have a big long LAN chord stretched out across my apartment anymore. Yay!

In other good news, a friend from back home will be visiting me in August for 10 days. I'm SO excited! It'll be great to have the chance to show someone from back home around this place I've been living for the past year. It's unfortunate that August is so disgustingly hot but hopefully she'll be able to cope. I'm thinking I'll take her to Kyoto and maybe Osaka? Unless she has some other places in mind. Tokyo could be cool too, it's just a bitch to get to. We'll see I guess. Got a whole month to plan so it should be fine 😊

Anyway, I'm just sitting in my kitchen chilling to some Simon and Garfunkle. Gotta be up early to call Sara and wish her a happy birthday. That's one major downside about being here - you miss everything important back home.

Cheers!

Advertisement



20th June 2010

I can't wait!
Can't wait to see you and where you have been living!! I will totally handle the heat, no worries! I will go wherever you want, I am just pumped to see you and to have an adventure!!! xoxo See you in 45 days!!
21st June 2010

I can't wait either!
It's going to be great :D
6th September 2010

Thank you.
Hello Jeniffer I read all of your travelblog. That was sufer fun ! Thank you. Kaori

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb