Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
October 9th 2018
Published: October 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today was a travel day, but a little more special than some. I rode the famous Shinkansen (Japanese bullet train) from Tokyo to Kyoto. It was very smooth and quiet. It was also comfortable. I understand that their top speed is 200 miles per hour, but the average speed is obviously less. Anyway, I made the journey in less than 2.5 hours, departing and arriving in the heart of each city. Try doing that in an airplane! My one disappointment with the trip was that I didn’t see Mt Fuji. The cloud cover was too thick. Maybe next time... After checking into my hotel, I went out exploring. Kyoto is best known for its high concentration of temples, shrines, and gardens. I had enough time this afternoon to see the Yasaka Shinto Shrine. There were quite a few tourist and many of them lined up to ring one of the big bells hanging from the eaves of the shrine. As I wandered around the area, I noticed quite a number of women in kimonos and several men in yukatas. I wondered about this until I began to see kimono rental shops. I guess it must be a thing to do in Kyoto. (I occasionally saw women wearing kimonos in Tokyo, but it was unusual.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb