Fall Arrives in Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
November 14th 2008
Published: November 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

こにちわ! (Konichiwa!)

Fall has arrived in Kyoto and the weather has already changed. Kyoto's weather patterns are actually similar to those of Atlanta but I have been warned by my Japanese friends that winter in Kyoto can be extremely cold since it is in a valley. I have been doing the usual routine of going to school, eating, exercising...so things are pretty similar to my life in Atlanta except all of my surroundings of course. My Japanese level is also improving since I can now read the first alphabet of Japanese (Hiragana). I am pretty excited about my learning Japanese. Every instance I get to practice new phrases or words always makes me feel excited! Today for instance, was pretty interesting because I was approached by three middle school students who wanted to ask me some questions in English for their English class. They asked me the questions in English obviously and I was able to respond to them in Japanese! (Where do you come from? 国わあめりかです Kuni wa amerika desu-My country is America) After wondering around downtown Kyoto I returned to where I left my bicycle the night before only to find that it had been towed to a holding facility : ( Of course in the states it would be easy to assume that it was stolen but after all I am in Japan so I looked for a notice and sure enough it had been towed the night before so I had to get a taxi and pay 2,500 Yen ($26) to get my bike back! Never parking there again! Other than that things in Japan couldn't be better....I know consider Kyoto home : / I will post more pictures and updates soon so expect more entries soon!

Advertisement



28th November 2008

bicycle
what's up willie? i'm happy to hear your japanese is improving! it's starting to get cold over here in Oita, but nothing too crazy.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb