I Need Your Input!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa » Kotohira
January 29th 2009
Published: January 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello Faithful Readers!

As we get set to turn the page on January '09, I just want to say that writing this blog has been a lot of fun, and I appreciate all of the positive feedback you've given me. This is probably the first time I've ever done any free-form writing, so forgive me for learning on the job.

First, a few updates! A week after returning from the sunny beaches of Thailand, I found myself on top of a snow-covered mountain with skis dauntingly strapped to my legs. I was on top of the Nozawa Onsen Ski Resort in Olympic-(in)famous (not just famous, INfamous...WATCH THE THREE AMIGOS DAMMNIT!!) Nagano. It was my first time skiing in probably 10 years, but I was amazed at how quickly I shook off the rust and regained my form. From now on, I propose that instead of saying "it's just like riding a bike", we say "it's just like having two fiberglass planks strapped to your feet with the sole purpose of transporting you down a 3,000ft mountain!" Yeah, in all seriousness, I had forgotten how much fun skiing is. And to do it in a place was Nagano was an amazing experience.

I have recently made plans to visit Tokyo in a few weeks. Thanks to another long-holiday weekend, I'll be spending (in more ways than one) about 5 days in one of the most exciting, historic, and neon-lit cities in the world. It feels like my first time there, even though it isn't. When I first arrived in Japan, we had a 3-day conference and training in downtown Tokyo before being shipped out to our respective new homes. Due to a busy schedule and debilitating jet-lag, I wasn't able to see very much of the city. So I'm very excited to go back.

I'm also preparing to have my father come for a visit in March. We will be spending 12 days seeing Japan and Hong Kong. My dad used to come to Tokyo and Hong Kong a lot on business, but that was 20 years ago. I'm excited for him to see how much each place has changed (or not changed).

Now it's your turn. I am wondering what kind of questions you have had about Japan, my life, my job, my experiences that have gone unanswered. I'm looking to answer those questions, in this public blog forum, as well as give myself an excuse to do some research as to provide you with an answer that is somewhat non-B.S. I'll do my best to make it worth your while.

Look forward to hearing from you!

-Dave

Advertisement



29th January 2009

GREAT TO HEAR FROM YOU!
Dave: Great to hear from you again. I was so sorry to hear about your camera in Thailand. That was a bummer! How cold has it been there and how cold were the slopes?
30th January 2009

dave... tell us about the ladies!!
30th January 2009

Skiing
Dave, I want Pics from Nagano! Let me see that form for myself.
30th January 2009

Duplicitous plots?
Dave: have you come across any potential plots to bomb any of our naval bases?

Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb