First Impressions


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa » Kotohira
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tokyo ArrivalTokyo ArrivalTokyo Arrival

every person wearing a yellow shirt was a volunteer
This is my first entry, which was written on August 11, 2008:

One week into my stay in Japan should be enough time to make a few first impressions on my new home. Of course, we always have the perspective of others’ experiences to shape our preconceptions of our new endeavor. In my case, I met a number of people that had traveled to Japan for business and pleasure at one time or another, and almost everyone told me that living in Japan would be one of the best experiences a young person could have. Almost everyone was envious of my prospects. I’m going to guess that most of these people traveled on temporary visits or spoke Japanese.
My true first impression since arriving is that Japan is so different from anything else, I literally question my every move, action, speech, purchase, and just about anything else. I feel like I’m a newborn baby; everything is new, everything is different, everything is foreign. Everything. After a meal, I grabbed a toothpick from the counter, said goodbye and walked out. Suddenly I realize, am I allowed to have a toothpick in my mouth while I walk? I already know that
Kotohira ApartmentKotohira ApartmentKotohira Apartment

View from my small porch
I should never eat standing up or walking. Will I be arrested or just stared at strangely?
The biggest difference and main reason ordinary things are difficult is the language. I was totally expecting few people to have enough English skills to have a conversation about politics. What I was not expecting was the complete dearth of English anywhere. Signs, train stops, prices, labels. It’s the written language barrier that proves to be the toughest to overcome sometimes.
So, after one week, I can say that there have been some difficulties and some frustrations; most of which dealing with small everyday living situations than travel/touristy ones. All this adds up to a major case of (you guessed it) CULTURE SHOCK! I know that the more days I spend here, the more I’ll get used to, learn, and adapt. Genki desu (see, told you I’d learn something). I’m full of spirit.
The other side of the coin is how impressive the JET Program continues to show itself to be. Arriving in Tokyo is a piece of cake when there are volunteers spaced out no more than 30 feet from each other telling you where to go. After a
Rice Fields of KotohiraRice Fields of KotohiraRice Fields of Kotohira

It may look like a well-manicured lawn, but it's a rice field--and they are everywhere
supremely well organized and enjoyable orientation at the Keio Plaza (5 stars in the ritziest area of Tokyo, paid for), we traveled with returning JETs and Japanese supervisors to Kagawa Prefecture on Shikoku.
More to come from Kotohira, my new town, on the next entry.


Advertisement



21st August 2008

Gooorgeous, honey!
David! Sounds like a rough start with the language barrier, but the pictures are totally gorgeous. Must be a hell of a place to be- I'm sitting in a small office next to the bathroom (so I get to see how many dozens of times this one person goes per day. Poor girl.). Oh, and I've got a pretty choice view of the parking lot. Can't wait to read more! Much love- W

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb