Feeling very discouraged about blog attempt


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Iwate » Kitakami
April 29th 2012
Published: April 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

HangingoutattheRyokanKatsutaroHangingoutattheRyokanKatsutaroHangingoutattheRyokanKatsutaro

In traditional Japanese-style rooms, robes for relaxing in your room are often provided. I wore some the second evening and night at the Ryokan Katsutaro, a Japanese inn that reminds me of a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hostel. Unfortunately, it didn't serve breakfast but the room was very roomy.
I was up early this morning (Monday Japan-time, still Sunday I believe old time) and wrote the longest entry about my arrival and the first morning I stayed here only to accidentally bump my laptop and closed the browser window. This laptop is extremely sensitive to small movements. I thought I might have saved a draft of the entry, but I hadn't. I was a bit encouraged when I found three comments on my blog, as the site never notified me anyone attempted to comment so that I could moderate them. Although I'm not doing an adequate job, at least some people might be enjoying the updates and photos.

There is so much to share that I feel I'm not doing an adequate job, but instead I'll include a few more photographs of the time I have spent here. I'm now in Kitakami with my sister. Soya-san, her friend and a taxi cab driver, surprised us at the station and took us out for a ride up into the hills outside Kitakami for a beautiful view of the city and some gorgeous scenery. We also went to see some dog-toothed violets, a wildflower that has become harder to find in
AnnaElizabethRyokanKatsutaroAnnaElizabethRyokanKatsutaroAnnaElizabethRyokanKatsutaro

Anna and I together in the evening in our robes at the Ryokan Katsutaro in Ueno.
the area. He is a wonderful man who loves to talk and speaks no English, which is a shame as he rarely gives Anna a breath to translate. I like him a lot. Today he will be our ride to the onsen.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SoyasanpointingoutviewSoyasanpointingoutview
Soyasanpointingoutview

Soya-san pointing out different things to my sister Anna from our view of Kitakami from "Man Mountain."
SoyasanteachingSoyasanteaching
Soyasanteaching

Soya-san teaching Anna about the cherry blossoms and cherry blossom trees. I think we got a better guide and views than all the tourists causing traffic to see the famous view in the park.
Cherry blossomsCherry blossoms
Cherry blossoms

The cherry blossoms are in full bloom and very beautiful. Unfortunately my camera can't seem to pick up the nuances in the colors of pinks and whites.
ViewfromdogtoothvioletsViewfromdogtoothviolets
Viewfromdogtoothviolets

There is some beautiful country right outside Kitakami. This was a landscape shot I took near where we stopped to look at dog-tooth violets.


1st May 2012

Very Pretty
Kitakami looks like a beautiful place to live and visit. Enjoy your travels!
2nd May 2012

Enjoying the pictures
Love the pictures of Soyason and Anna; they are so like Soyason! This is great, I don't see why you are discouraged. Doing so much better than I did when I went.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb