The Second Week (Sep. 11-17)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
September 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My DollMy DollMy Doll

This is the doll that my Mama and Papa got me for a souvenir from Otaru.
The Second Week in Japan Sep. 11-17

I have so much stuff to catch you all up on. I’ll post entries according to the weeks I’ve been in Japan. Unless there is something special that requires it to have its own post. Enjoy the following postings.

(This is the same week that my last two posts were about.)

On September 13 Mama took me to Moerenuma Park to see the big fountain. However when we arrived it had just finished displaying. Even though I did not get to see that I did get to see the Glass Pyramid. I can’t remember the name of the architect that designed it but the entire park was designed by Isamu Noguchi. The entire park is considered to be one giant sculpture. There are four main chambers in the Glass Pyramid that people can rent for special occasions, meetings, workshops, as well as several other events. I would definitely visit it again just to lay on some of the benches and gaze up at its architecture. (There are actually benches made for doing just that.)

On September 16 I met up with Wade, Ben and Allison, Maria, and Tomomi. Satoko and
Glass FishGlass FishGlass Fish

If you look closely you can see all 11 glass fish that I bought. I suppose not all of them are fish but that's alright.
Naoko came later on in the evening. (For those that don’t know who they are, I went to school with all of them at BVU). We went out to eat and then we went to Karaoke. I have now officially sung karaoke. In Japan you have your own room with your friends. It’s really nice. By the time I found songs that I actually knew, since they don’t have country music, it was time to go. Now that I know what songs they have maybe next time I can pick out some right away. It was a very fun night.

On September 17 Mama, Papa and I went to Otaru. It is the number one glass blowing/making place in Japan or at least on Hokkaido (the island I am on). There are several little shops lining the streets of Otaru. Of course they are all selling some type of glass merchandise. I could not believe all the different things that can be made out of glass. I bought several little glass fish that hang by fishing line from a glass ball that floats in water. I now have my own little aquarium of fish that will never die. Yay!
KaraokeKaraokeKaraoke

Wade and I at supper.
They are very beautiful. We went into one shop that was huge since it used to be an old warehouse. While there I saw a little musical doll that was dressed in a witch costume, had red curly hair, and played Chim Chim Chiree. I fell in love with it right away. Mama and I went on to look at the rest of the shop and when we came out Papa had ended up buying the doll for me on Mama’s suggestion (got to love not being able to understand the language in its different forms). Now I have my first musical doll. I love it. Otaru was a lot of fun and I would definitely go back.

After we got back from Otaru we picked up Grandma and we all went to the top of Moiwa Mountain. From there you can see the night view of Sapporo. It was beautiful. I took several pictures of Sapporo from the top of the mountain.


Joy's Japan Photos  (Please ask me for the password if you don't know it. Thanks)

Best Wishes Everyone

Joy



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

FriendsFriends
Friends

At Supper before Karaoke. Clockwise from left: Wade, Allison, Ben, Tomomi, and Maria. There are a lot more pictures online at my photo album.
KaraokeKaraoke
Karaoke

Ben, Naoko and Satoko at Karaoke.
LanternsLanterns
Lanterns

Some lanterns inside the Glass Pyramid.
ReflectionReflection
Reflection

Mama's and my relfection off the glass of the Pyramid walls.
Night ViewNight View
Night View

This is one view of Sapporo from the Glass Pyramid. The Tower in the picture is Odori tower. I will have more pictures of Odori in later posts.
The Glass PyramidThe Glass Pyramid
The Glass Pyramid

This is half of the Glass Pyramid.
Glass PyramidGlass Pyramid
Glass Pyramid

Inside the Glass Pyramid.
LevelsLevels
Levels

Different levels inside the pyramid.
The floorThe floor
The floor

This is one of the floors in the Pyramid. If you look throught the windows you can see the lanterns below that I had a picture earlier.
LanternLantern
Lantern

This is looking through one of the windows of the floor to see the lanterns below.
Glass PyramidGlass Pyramid
Glass Pyramid

This is looking up towards the peak of the Glass Pyramid. Pretty cool to see at night.
OtaruOtaru
Otaru

This is a stained glass window on one of the buildings in Otaru.
Me and my icecreamMe and my icecream
Me and my icecream

A picture of myself standing in front of the building at Otaru that has the stained glass windows. I'm also eating my ice cream it was delicious.
Moiwa MountainMoiwa Mountain
Moiwa Mountain

A view of Sapporo from on top of Moiwa Mountain. (There will be several more photos of the view in my online photo album. I have to get them uploaded first.)
Moiwa Mountain SignMoiwa Mountain Sign
Moiwa Mountain Sign

I'm standing in front of the sign that says Moiwa Mountain.


13th October 2006

Pyramid
What a unique architectural structure to see! I bet Greg would love to see that. The little witch doll is so cute! How are you going to bring home your cool jar of fish? Looks like you're having fun with some of you're friends from BVU. Keep the posts coming! I love hearing about all your experiences. Mom
13th October 2006

Fish
The fish I have a container for, I`ll just pack up the jar very carefully.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb