YUKI MATSURI! - Part 1


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
February 11th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

on thursday, i jetted off to hokkaido (northern japan) to see the world famous snow and ice festival known as yuki matsuri...
the train journey to my hotel was incredible... i was so excited to leave the airport tunnel and see outside and when i finally saw the view, it didn't disappoint... the sky was bright blue and the snow was beautifully white and sparkly... and there was so much of it! i've never seen so much snow in my life!
by the time i arrived at my hotel it was late in the afternoon but i literally just dropped my bags and went straight out again, as i couldn't wait to see all the amazing snow sculptures.
it wasn't AS cold as i thought it would be but i'm glad i had my very unattractive thermals with me!

so i took the subway to odori park and admired all the incredible sculptures... it really was breathtaking - i couldn't believe the work that had gone into creating them. it started to snow as i was walking around - really soft and powdery snow. i met a guy called johnny who works as an english teacher in kyoto and he was also visiting on his own so we chatted for a while... it was nice to have someone to talk to for a bit and rave about what an amazing place we were in. we took a lift to the top of the TV tower and admired the night view over the entire park - beautiful with all the lights sparkling!

i then set off on my own for susukino, which is where all the smaller ice sculptures are displayed... i went to a bailey's ice bar and had the most delicious hot baileys cocktail! the sculptures were unbelievable... so much attention to detail!

as i took 170 photos over the whole weekend, i can't possibly put every single one on here so i've put a sample few on here but if you'd like to see them all - add me on facebook and you can look at all of my albums!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



11th February 2008

Wow how fantastic.What a sight in life form.Its a wonder your friends didnt go with you.The nearest i have to snow are the snowdrops in my garden,they do look good now.The patience you need to sculpture ice like those.Trace and Helen need blocks of ice for children to have a go in forest school.x
13th February 2008

I'mamazed you never got the fish out of the sculpture and ate it, you little piggy. Hey Sandras got a good idea I bet Wesley could sculpt Eygpt no probs. Vicky needs somewhere to live maybe they could make her a house, she is at mine at the moment while we are trying to find somewhere. I went to see the midwife with her and heard my grandchilds heartbeat so weird hearing someone elses baby but lovely to know that it is well. I am going now to do my work. bye!
17th March 2010

i love it
these are soooooooo pretty. the people who made this are very talented

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb