The Only Picnic In Japan (Brad Stuart Day)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
April 9th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hanami Time!Hanami Time!Hanami Time!

Pretty Cherry Blossoms.
The arrival of April brought with it improved weather. And the improved weather meant the blossoming of the infamous Japanese sakura (cherry blossoms) wouldn’t be too far off, nor would the equally infamous hanami parties (essentially a picnic amongst the cherry blossoms with a lot of drinking involved). A group of us jumped the gun a little early and had a hanami picnic the first weekend in April. It was a nice time and featured just as much revelry and alcohol as a typical hanami picnic, albeit without the actual cherry blossoms. However, it was clear from the hint of pink emerging from the green buds that they were on the cusp of blooming and we rightly predicted that by the same time next week the city of Hiroshima would be awash with cherry blossoms.

In the meantime, anticipation was building for what is arguably the most impressive sight in Japan. That, and for a chance to really cut loose during the all-to-brief Japanese picnic season. As the blooming of the cherry blossoms is generally the only picnic Japanese enjoy (a point that is open to some debate I’m sure), many people subscribe to the old adage, “go hard or
Hanami Time!Hanami Time!Hanami Time!

The thing about hanami time is that it never fails to bring out the city's best and brightest...
go home.” It should probably be noted that I include myself in this group, as evidenced at last year’s hanami party (will Anne and Ana ever be able to listen to the score from Les Miserables the same way again?). Anyway, the alcohol flows freely and drunks of all stripes are everywhere. Some folk even imbibe to the point where they can’t make it home. Thus, it’s not uncommon during hanami time to pass through the Peace Park and espy more individuals than usual sleeping on the benches. The homeless who often bed down on the park benches find themselves in competition for limited space with business men in expensive suits looking to curl up into fetal position and snooze off a sake-induced slumber. Hey, it’s all part of the fun that is hanami.

And it was fun I was looking forward to all week. My plans for a couple of hanami parties on Friday and Saturday were set, the alcohol selected, and the camera fully charged in case the opportunity to get some nice cherry blossom and/or blackmail photos presented itself. Unfortunately, I was felled by a nasty stomach illness Thursday night. I don’t know quite what to
Hanami Time!Hanami Time!Hanami Time!

Utsukushii sakura.
attribute the illness to, whether it was the bug going around the JET community or just a bad pack of instant noodles or something else. Whatever it was, I was out of commission all day Friday and therefore missed out on my first of two hanami picnics. Laying in bed distraught over my current predicament, I spent my time both fighting the urge to run to the bathroom to make an offering to the porcelain god and hoping my health would improve in time for Saturday’s picnic. Hanami time is of course very beautiful and enjoyable but as I’ve indicated, it’s much to short. Hanami time only lasts as long as the cherry blossoms, which would be about a week or so. Part of my concern, therefore, was that I would miss the only picnic opportunity of the year.

Luckily, I did improve. Not enough to fully partake in the hanami experience as fully as I’d have liked (tempted though I was, my stomach just wouldn’t let me crack a delicious, delicious beer), but nonetheless I count myself fortunate to have had at least enough strength to get out of bed and down to the Peace Park to enjoy
Hanami Time!Hanami Time!Hanami Time!

...as well as the riff raff.
the company of good friends, some good weather, and for the final time before I leave this country, the exquisite sakura.

(the photos are all from Saturday's gathering by the way)





Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb