Christmas in Hiroshima!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
December 19th 2005
Published: December 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Peace Boulevard Light Spectacular!The Peace Boulevard Light Spectacular!The Peace Boulevard Light Spectacular!

I became part of the show!
Hiroshima City has a really cool feel to it, and I feel very fortunate to live so close to it. It's a city that always seems alive, with people bustling, street cars going back and forth, and just things happening. It's also small enough that it's not intimidating. I've especially enjoyed the Christmas feel to the city at this time of year.

The weather has gotten quite a bit colder (as of tonight, I could see my breath in my apartment!) and this area has gotten quite a bit of snow. Mind you, it's not as much snow as I would call a lot at home, but apparently the amount we've gotten is rare, and especially for December. So much for the dream of living in a warmer location this winter...

However, the snow has certainly brought with it, for me at least, the Christmas spirit. Hiroshima City has many department stores which are all decorated for Christmas. To me, they give the city a more old-fashioned feel. As well, there are lights on homes and a huge light show along Peace Boulevard, which is near the Peace Park.

Although the Japanese don't officially celebrate Christmas, they seem to love the whole idea and spirit of it, hence the decorations. I've been told Christmas is more like Valentine's Day here, meant for boyfriends and girlfriends. Unfortunately, I won't be able to spend the day with the love of my life (a.k.a my rice cooker), as I will be in Thailand, from December 22nd to January 9th. This is my last journal entry until the new year...I'll be back next year with plenty more to share! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! For now, enjoy the Christmas pictures. You might want to even play a little Christmas music in the background😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Kirei desu ne?Kirei desu ne?
Kirei desu ne?

Beautiful, eh? A pretty tree on Peace Boulevard
A Department Store GreetingA Department Store Greeting
A Department Store Greeting

Tenmaya, a major department store downtown, gives it's Christmas greeting
Restaurants along the WaterfrontRestaurants along the Waterfront
Restaurants along the Waterfront

These are fairly new restaurants along the waterfront downtown, that I always pass along my walk to the train station
Diamond City ChristmasDiamond City Christmas
Diamond City Christmas

This is a picture of "my" mall, Diamond City/Soleil, which features many Christmas decorations. I will have more on this mall later, but let's just say it's got everything I need and more...! It's huge for Japanese standards, and it's only a 15-minute walk away!
Diamond City Christmas Light ShowDiamond City Christmas Light Show
Diamond City Christmas Light Show

This fibre-optic light show has been set up since about late October. It's really pretty, featuring music, and changing light colours. You often see couples walking together through the archway...very romantical!
Happy Smile Xmas!Happy Smile Xmas!
Happy Smile Xmas!

Diamond City's spectacular tree, with the slogan, "Happy Smile Xmas!"
Lights at Green Villa!Lights at Green Villa!
Lights at Green Villa!

I'm positive it's not as spectacular as your light show, Dad! My apartment is on the 2nd storey, beneath the 2nd light
A Snow FamilyA Snow Family
A Snow Family

I spotted these guys on my way to the train station. It was neat to see all of the snowmen that were all over the area after the snowfall
Pipin' Hot!Pipin' Hot!
Pipin' Hot!

A Dim Sum shop, shadowed in steam from the cold


19th December 2005

Merry Christmas hun! Thailand will be soo fantastic I'm sure, take care and HAVE FUN! MMMMWUAHHHH!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb